PrePaidGSM.net Forum
Mobal
PrePaidGSM Home National Operators International Cards Contacts Links



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#1)
snidely (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Expert
 
Posts: 451
Join Date: 09 May 2005
Location: Berkeley, California and Miami

Country:
Default 06-07-2006, 21:43

Thought I would start a new thread - since i'm responsible for the other two on "Yackie"

Had my Yackie card for a couple days, and could make out going calls both on a new phone (direct dialed, almost instant call back) and an old phone where I had to menu dial (no problem, just a few key presses on the phone to get to the menu).
Newer phone - quad band Moto V330 Older phone: SEr520m (tri-band)

Now incoming is fine. Glitch in assigning me a local 510 number. (Originally SIM was assigned a number fm. the original Ohio number pool.)

I haven't used it outside the U.S. It does access both T-Mobile and Cingular here.

Voice quality on outgoing was very good on the couple test calls. Incoming does not seem quite that good - would rate it just "fair". There seems to be a delay-which is minimal.
One point that may create a problem for callers - there seems to be a 10 to 15 second delay before the caller hears a "ringing" tone. Once the caller hears the ringing tone, it takes about 2 rings before the Yackie phone actually starts ringing.

My fear is that callers might hang up after 10 or 15 seconds of dead air.

I will do further testing this evening. VM etc. And, maybe, a few more test calls. You do get an immediate SMS after someone calls and you didn't answer informing you that they didn't leave a message. It gives you the ID of the caller. IOW, the system does pass ID on incoming.

more later.

...mike


Make use of T-M's UMA/wifi free calling from any place in the world with access to wifi. I use an LG G6, wife an S7)
A/o Oct 20, 2013 no need for intl prepaid as T-Mobile U.S. includes voice roaming at 20/min (in and out)., unlimited text (in and out), and unlimited data in 140+ countries.

My Plan -[6 lines] U.S. T-Mobile unlimited minutes (incoming and outgoing), unlimited text, fast data on each line. that $145/mo. total! . (In U.S. no surcharge for calling a cell.) If a line exceeds 2G of data in a month, pay $10 more for that line. [That only happens a couple times/year.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
bones_boy (Offline)
Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 89
Join Date: 06 Jun 2004

Country:
Default 07-07-2006, 00:52

YES!!! Good news.

BTW, how did you resolve the number assignment problem? Email, phone call? How quickly was it resolved?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Przemolog (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Guru
 
Przemolog's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,211
Join Date: 06 Feb 2005
Location: Swidnik-home, Lublin-work

Country:
Default 07-07-2006, 07:24

Have you tried SMS sending/receiving to an Israeli "real" SIM number? And, have tried calling that number directly - is it really blocked for incoming calls?
  Send a message via Skype™ to Przemolog 
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
dg7feq (Offline)
Moderator
Prepaid Guru
 
Posts: 1,159
Join Date: 04 Feb 2006
Location: Germany

Country:
Default 07-07-2006, 08:09

Quote:
Originally Posted by snidely
Voice quality on outgoing was very good on the couple test calls. Incoming does not seem quite that good - would rate it just "fair". There seems to be a delay-which is minimal.
One point that may create a problem for callers - there seems to be a 10 to 15 second delay before the caller hears a "ringing" tone. Once the caller hears the ringing tone, it takes about 2 rings before the Yackie phone actually starts ringing.

My fear is that callers might hang up after 10 or 15 seconds of dead air.
Thats the same here with the "o2 Genion" product. Where you get a virtual landline-number attached to your sim-card. It also takes up to 15 seconds before it rings. So also the "big players" have the same problems like yackie here.

Chris


Germany: smartmobil, simquadrat, Vodafone (data)
Thailand: truemove (phone+sms+wifi), TOT 3G (data)
International: xxSim+372, toggle +44/+49/+41/+31
Phones: Huawei Mate7, Zopo ZP700
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
Stu (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Guru
 
Posts: 1,087
Join Date: 11 Feb 2004
Location: Detroit (formerly Dubai)

Country:
Default 07-07-2006, 10:44

They should program their server to play something after three or four seconds without a connection like, "Please hold while the mobile customer you have dialed is located."
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
dg7feq (Offline)
Moderator
Prepaid Guru
 
Posts: 1,159
Join Date: 04 Feb 2006
Location: Germany

Country:
Default 07-07-2006, 11:06

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stu
They should program their server to play something after three or four seconds without a connection like, "Please hold while the mobile customer you have dialed is located."
The question is if they could put on such a announcement without picking up the call and make the caller pay for the text.... o2 could do as they are they run their own network - but yackie?

Chris


Germany: smartmobil, simquadrat, Vodafone (data)
Thailand: truemove (phone+sms+wifi), TOT 3G (data)
International: xxSim+372, toggle +44/+49/+41/+31
Phones: Huawei Mate7, Zopo ZP700
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Bossman (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Guru
 
Posts: 1,238
Join Date: 22 Apr 2005
Location: Chicago

Country:
Default 07-07-2006, 11:34

Voicestick uses a similar feature with their call forwarding.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stu
They should program their server to play something after three or four seconds without a connection like, "Please hold while the mobile customer you have dialed is located."


Phones: ASUS zenfone 3, Nexus 4, Lumia 650 dual sim
Sim cards: AT&T (Contract), 3 UK, Piranha Mobile
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
dg7feq (Offline)
Moderator
Prepaid Guru
 
Posts: 1,159
Join Date: 04 Feb 2006
Location: Germany

Country:
Default 07-07-2006, 12:16

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bossman
Voicestick uses a similar feature with their call forwarding.
without charging the caller?


Germany: smartmobil, simquadrat, Vodafone (data)
Thailand: truemove (phone+sms+wifi), TOT 3G (data)
International: xxSim+372, toggle +44/+49/+41/+31
Phones: Huawei Mate7, Zopo ZP700
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
VladS (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Pioneer
 
Posts: 590
Join Date: 22 Jun 2004

Country:
Default 07-07-2006, 12:37

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stu
They should program their server to play something after three or four seconds without a connection like, "Please hold while the mobile customer you have dialed is located."
They would need their own SS7 infrastructure on the TDM end to do that.


VladS
Mobile phones: iPhone 5, Blackberry 9900, Nexus S, Samsung S3322 duos
Mobile data cards: Huawei E587u-5, Huawei E583c, Huawei E160
Postpaid SIMs: CA: Fido, Wind; INTL: Telna
Prepaid SIMs: DE: Fonic, Lidl; AT: yesss!, bob; UK: O2; US: AT&T; RO: Orange, Vodafone; FR: b&you, Lycamobile; NL: Lycamobile; BE: Lycamobile, Jim Mobile; CL: Entel; MX: Telcel; INTL: eKit Blue, eKit Yellow
Dead SIMs: too many to list
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
bones_boy (Offline)
Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 89
Join Date: 06 Jun 2004

Country:
Default 07-07-2006, 12:42

Quote:
Originally Posted by dg7feq
The question is if they could put on such a announcement without picking up the call and make the caller pay for the text.... o2 could do as they are they run their own network - but yackie?
I would bet that when you call in to the Yackie number, that you are indeed paying for the call during that 10-15 seconds of dead air.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
2002- ad libitum PrePaidGSM.net