PrePaidGSM.net Forum
Telestial
PrePaidGSM Home National Operators International Cards Contacts Links


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#1)
RobF (Offline)
Junior Member
Amateur Member
 
Posts: 16
Join Date: 20 Oct 2011

Country:
Default On smartphone, can I separately route phone & internet traffic? - 29-07-2015, 11:04

So far, for making cellular calls I'd been using a simple Nokia Handy (not a smartphone), with a SIM that uses the Wirmobil Prepaid 3 plan (eplus net). On that plan, I can make calls and send SMS as long as there is a balance in my account, and I'm not confined to monthly accounting intervals. On that plan, transmission of GPRS data packets (e.g. Internet browsing) would be charged at 24c/MB.

For internet browsing from my laptop and tablets I'd like to continue to use their WiFi connection to a Huawei e585 3G modem outfitted with an Aldi SIM card for which I'm always booking the Aldi internet flatrate XL (5 GB fast access, used within one month).

I've now ordered a SONY Xperia 2M smartphone which I want to use: a) for making phone calls and SMS on my old Wirmobil (eplus) plan and phone number, and b) for heavy Internet surfing using a WiFi connection to the 3G modem, just as I do it with laptop and tablets.

If I put the Wirmobil SIM card in the smartphone's microSIM slot and go on the Internet, would I then be charged at the Wirmobil Prepaid 3 plan's rate for data packet transfer of 24c/MB? Is there a way I can set up the smartphone to route all phone and SMS traffic through the direct 3G connection supported by the Wirmobil/eplus SIM and all Internet data traffic through the WiFi => 3G connection supported by the Huawei 3G modem with its Aldi SIM?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
dg7feq (Offline)
Moderator
Prepaid Guru
 
Posts: 1,158
Join Date: 04 Feb 2006
Location: Germany

Country:
Default 29-07-2015, 13:48

sure, just enable wifi and disable mobile internet.


Germany: smartmobil, simquadrat, Vodafone (data)
Thailand: truemove (phone+sms+wifi), TOT 3G (data)
International: xxSim+372, toggle +44/+49/+41/+31
Phones: Huawei Mate7, Zopo ZP700
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
RobF (Offline)
Junior Member
Amateur Member
 
Posts: 16
Join Date: 20 Oct 2011

Country:
Default 01-08-2015, 09:22

Quote:
Originally Posted by dg7feq View Post
sure, just enable wifi and disable mobile internet.
Thanks, seems to have worked. That was easy.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
2002- ad libitum PrePaidGSM.net