PrePaidGSM.net Forum
telna Mobile
PrePaidGSM Home National Operators International Cards Contacts Links


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#1)
lizzie1955 (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Fan
 
Posts: 100
Join Date: 20 Aug 2007

Country:
Default Help With a Lebara SIM - 18-07-2015, 15:56

I bought a Lebara.fr SIM on eBay. It came from the seller activated.

The network is showing as Bouygues Telecom. I'm picking up T-Mobile Lebara in the US. (I have international data roaming off so I don't eat up balance on account.)

APN: mmsbouygtel.com

Will I need to change any of these settings manually to have internet access in France.

Finally, the seller sent me log-in infor so I could access the account online. She told me I could change the e-mail and password, which I did, but I haven't been able to access it since. The screen says they are experiencing technical difficulties, but this has been going on for days. I tried sending a message to Lebara via Facebook. They won't help unless I answer certain security questions, I've e-mailed the seller but she is no longer responding.
Any suggestions? I'm thinking that the best thing is just to forget about the online account.

FYI, I was even able to top up from the US as a guest user and paid via my PayPal account.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Lizzie
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
lizzie1955 (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Fan
 
Posts: 100
Join Date: 20 Aug 2007

Country:
Default 18-07-2015, 17:28

I also just noticed that Lebara is MNVO GSM 900/1800 versus other carriers that also offer WCDMA 2100. Given that my phone is a unlocked Samsung Mega-US version can I assume that it will not work well on without the WCDMA 2100.

Would I be better off with a Lycamobile SIM?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
tamla (Offline)
Junior Member
Amateur Member
 
Posts: 23
Join Date: 30 Jun 2013

Country:
Default 19-07-2015, 12:17

I am assuming you are still in the USA , in France Lebara and Lycamobile as mvno use Bouygues network. If your phone does not support the 3G or 4G bands that Bouygues use then your browsing speed in France will be slow and at GPRS speeds when you are trying to use your data connection. The apn settings for Lebara fr on an Andriod phone can be seen on this youtube video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9xPf6Unz3U8.

Sent from my GT-P6210 using Tapatalk
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
lizzie1955 (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Fan
 
Posts: 100
Join Date: 20 Aug 2007

Country:
Default 19-07-2015, 14:38

I do understand all this. My phone picked up the settings for Bouygues so I assume that should be fine.

However, if you look at the list of carriers on this Forum it says the Bouygues and LycaMobile support WCDMA 2100 -- Lebara does not. My phone supports 3G on 2100MHz without that I could be in trouble.

What I don't understand is -- If Lebara runs on Bouygues, why does it not support WCDMA 2100?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
tamla (Offline)
Junior Member
Amateur Member
 
Posts: 23
Join Date: 30 Jun 2013

Country:
Default 19-07-2015, 15:32

WCDMA is an older and slower protocol of 3G for data. Lebara is an MVNO only provides 2G/3G to it customers on the Bouygues network. If your phone supports one of the newer 3G protocols such as HSPA/HSPA+) you will find the data speeds very good

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
lizzie1955 (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Fan
 
Posts: 100
Join Date: 20 Aug 2007

Country:
Default 19-07-2015, 15:54

These are the specs as they appear on the AT&T website. My phone is unlocked:


4G-LTE Band 1, 2, 4, 5, 7 and 17

4G HSPA+ with enhanced backhaul

UMTS/HSPA+ 850/1900/2100MHz

GSM/GPRS/EDGE 850/900/1800/1900MHz

Wi-Fi® connectivity 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac

5GHz Wi-Fi-capable 802.11n

Near Field Communication (NFC) Open, secure

Bluetooth® technology v4.0

Mobile Hotspot** Up to 10 devices
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
tamla (Offline)
Junior Member
Amateur Member
 
Posts: 23
Join Date: 30 Jun 2013

Country:
Default 19-07-2015, 16:04

From the specs you should get fast browsing speeds where ever you have a strong signal. Just be certain that you have the correct apn settings for lebara fr

Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
© 2002- ad libitum PrePaidGSM.net