PrePaidGSM.net Forum
telna Mobile
PrePaidGSM Home National Operators International Cards Contacts Links



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#1)
mitch77 (Offline)
Junior Member
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Join Date: 14 Sep 2013

Country:
Default What specific bands do I need for Lycamobile? - 14-09-2013, 09:32

I am pretty new to mobiles and I want to purchase a phone that has everything needed to perform as well as possible on Lycamo.
I heard I needed 1700 & 2100 for Lycamobile to get 3g
*BUT* that was a deduction from someone who knew a little about Tmo
not knowledge from a Lycamobile source.

I like to not be confined to unlocked Tmo phones.

Thanks much.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
Marschel (Offline)
Member
Official Member
 
Posts: 48
Join Date: 27 Jul 2013
Location: Nuremberg

Country:
Default 14-09-2013, 13:24

2G: 1900 MHz
3G: 1900 MHz instead of AWS (1700/2100 MHz) where T-Mobile has finished their refarming process.


Home: Telekom Deutschland (Business & Consumer contract)

Abroad: AT: 3Reload iPad, Iniative 100%, Nimm3 Internet Klassik, Orange Wertkarte,
Wowww!, yesss! classic, yesss! complete; CH: Sunrise, Swisscom Natel easy; ES: Movistar, Orange;
GR: Cosmote, WIND; LU: Orange; NL: AH MOBIEL, T-Mobile; SE: Telenor, Telia;
UK: 3Play, Lycamobile, Truphone, Virgin Mobile

Devices: Apple iPad mini with Retina, iPhone 5s; Huawei B593u-12, E5372Ts-32; Samsung Galaxy Note II LTE
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
DRNewcomb (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Professionist
 
Posts: 1,465
Join Date: 27 Feb 2004
Location: Mississippi, USA

Country:
Default 14-09-2013, 13:39

Quote:
Originally Posted by mitch77 View Post
I am pretty new to mobiles and I want to purchase a phone that has everything needed to perform as well as possible on Lycamo.
I heard I needed 1700 & 2100 for Lycamobile to get 3g
*BUT* that was a deduction from someone who knew a little about Tmo
not knowledge from a Lycamobile source.

I like to not be confined to unlocked Tmo phones.
Not sure about which bands you need for Lycamobile. I can tell you that T-Mobile (US) is converting some of their 1900 GSM coverage to UMTS. So, there are many areas (mostly large cities) where a 1900 (Band II) device, such as an iPhone 3GS will work on 3G with a T-Mobile SIM.

Also, to select phones that have the bands you want, you can go to GSMArena.com and filter the reviews by all the bands you want.

I'm currently using a Nokia N8 which has all the necessary GSM & UMTS bands and has never been touched by T-Mobile. I'm not recommending a Nokia N8, just saying you don't have to limit yourself to ex-T-Mobile devices. In fact, there are some risks in buying a device originally sold by T-Mobile, as they will blacklist the device if the original owner did not satisfy his contractual requirements. So, beware of eBay purchases unless you get a strong guarantee from a very high rated seller.
 Send a message via ICQ to DRNewcomb  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
rfranzq (Online)
Senior Member
Prepaid Specialist
 
rfranzq's Avatar
 
Posts: 771
Join Date: 21 Apr 2009

Country:
Default Where do you live?? - 14-09-2013, 20:12

Quote:
Originally Posted by mitch77 View Post
I like to not be confined to unlocked Tmo phones.
Whatever phone you get needs to be unlocked. Really.
Historicaly, you needed the AWS band to get T-Mobile 3G.
[AWS=1700---which is actually 1700/2100--one is upload the other download.
This is why it is described in many confusing ways.]
T-Mobile is also 'refarming' the 1900mHz band for 3G.
http://airportal.de/ will kind of give an idea where this is available.

Where do you live?? The answer to that might mean you NEED a T-Mobile unlocked phone.
OR at least a phone with the AWS band which are not all that frequent.
I live in Southern California and would not need an AWS band phone.
Any place that is not near 'red' on the airportal map would probably be best served with a phone that has the AWS band.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
inquisitor (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Professionist
 
inquisitor's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,399
Join Date: 15 Nov 2006

Country:
Default 15-09-2013, 16:04

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marschel View Post
2G: 1900 MHz
3G: 1900 MHz instead of AWS (1700/2100 MHz) where T-Mobile has finished their refarming process.
The UMTS coverage on 1900MHz (so-called PCS band) will not immediately replace existing UMTS coverage on 1700/2100MHz (so-called AWS band). While T-Mobile will probably rededicate some AWS spectrum to LTE, for now both frequencies will continue to co-exist. At this time for T-Mobile subscribers - including those of MVNOs like Lyca - AWS support is still much more important than PCS support.


terminals: Samsung: Galaxy S5 DuoS (G900FD); BLU: Win HD LTE; Nokia: 1200; Asus: Fonepad 7 ME372CG; Huawei data: E3372, Vodafone R201, K3765, E1762;
postpaid: O2 on Business XL; prepaid: DE: Aldi Talk, Lidl; UK: 3; BG: MTel, vivacom; RU: MTS; RS: MTS; UAE: du Tourist SIM; INT'L: toggle mobile
VoIP: sipgate.de (German DID); sipgate.co.uk (British DID); ukddi.com (British DID); sipcall.ch (Swiss DID); megafon.bg (Bulgarian DID); InterVoip.com
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
2002- ad libitum PrePaidGSM.net