PrePaidGSM.net Forum
telna Mobile
PrePaidGSM Home National Operators International Cards Contacts Links


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#1)
lizzie1955 (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Fan
 
Posts: 100
Join Date: 20 Aug 2007

Country:
Default A Stupid Question Re: Lebara - 02-06-2013, 15:55

Last time I was in London I got my old iPhone 3GS unlocked and used Lebara. It worked like a dream. When I got back to the US, I put my AT&T sim back in, no problems. When I switched to the Note, I continued using this phone in Germany on Fonic.

My question is. if I put a LebaraUK sim back in now, are all of the setting still there or will the phone need to be set up again.

Thanks!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
UKSTEVE (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Expert
 
UKSTEVE's Avatar
 
Posts: 197
Join Date: 26 Dec 2004
Location: Sheffield UK

Country:
Default 02-06-2013, 15:59

Most carriers allow configuration these days Lizzie.

That should work - some smaller mobile virtual network operators may need some manual configging....

Hope this helps / Steve


[size=2]Steve Gold
PO Box 1014, Sheffield S10 5YG, UK

Home mobie: Telefonica O2
Other UK mobiles: 3, Vodafone, Virgin

Foreign SIMs: Toggle (multi); Germany (Fonic); Poland (Orange PL);

Skype: stevewgold
  Send a message via Skype™ to UKSTEVE 
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
inquisitor (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Professionist
 
inquisitor's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,399
Join Date: 15 Nov 2006

Country:
Default 02-06-2013, 21:08

Usually Android phones do automatically adjust the APN settings to the used SIM card/carrier, so you do not need to do anything when switching SIM cards. In rare cases, however, you may be forced to enter the appopriate APN manually. I assume that's not the case for a British Lebara SIM.


terminals: Samsung: Galaxy S5 DuoS (G900FD); BLU: Win HD LTE; Nokia: 1200; Asus: Fonepad 7 ME372CG; Huawei data: E3372, Vodafone R201, K3765, E1762;
postpaid: O2 on Business XL; prepaid: DE: Aldi Talk, Lidl; UK: 3; BG: MTel, vivacom; RU: MTS; RS: MTS; UAE: du Tourist SIM; INT'L: toggle mobile
VoIP: sipgate.de (German DID); sipgate.co.uk (British DID); ukddi.com (British DID); sipcall.ch (Swiss DID); megafon.bg (Bulgarian DID); InterVoip.com
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Stu (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Guru
 
Posts: 1,090
Join Date: 11 Feb 2004
Location: Detroit (formerly Dubai)

Country:
Default 03-06-2013, 05:47

I use Tweakker for my Android phone and highly recommend it. It has configurations for Android phones for most networks.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
TheMadBrewer (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Fan
 
Posts: 127
Join Date: 01 Jun 2005
Location: Marina del Rey, CA

Country:
Default 05-06-2013, 22:34

I had a Lebara UK SIM a few years ago, but it had to have activity every 80 days or so. I would send myself a text but forgot once and when I was in London last summer it was dead Don't know if that has changed but if not, a reason to be careful of Lebara.


Whole bunch of SIMs, mostly dead, some still working...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
lizzie1955 (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Fan
 
Posts: 100
Join Date: 20 Aug 2007

Country:
Default 06-06-2013, 14:39

Lebara hasn't changed. My old one full of credit and dead.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
lizzie1955 (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Fan
 
Posts: 100
Join Date: 20 Aug 2007

Country:
Default 21-06-2013, 16:00

I just put the Lebara SIM into my old 3GS iPhone and it seems to have picked up all of the internet settings except they all say Vodaphone not Lebara. I am assuming that this is all correct.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
tamla (Offline)
Junior Member
Amateur Member
 
Posts: 23
Join Date: 30 Jun 2013

Country:
Default 30-06-2013, 20:49

Yes that is correct Lebara are an MVNO and use the vodafone network

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
andy (Offline)
Moderator
Prepaid Prophet
 
Posts: 2,123
Join Date: 10 Dec 2004

Country:
Default 01-07-2013, 10:22

Quote:
Originally Posted by lizzie1955 View Post
I just put the Lebara SIM into my old 3GS iPhone and it seems to have picked up all of the internet settings except they all say Vodaphone not Lebara. I am assuming that this is all correct.
It might not be

I have a SIM from another mvno on Vodafone, Ovivo. When I put this in a Nokia X6, it automatically picked up Vodafone settings, but the Ovivo ones are different.

On giffgaff, an mnvo on O2, I've seen iPhone users having to compile their settings separately (or install a small file made by other users), as Apple doesn't support giffgaff as officially recognised. The same may or may not apply to Lebara.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
2002- ad libitum PrePaidGSM.net