PrePaidGSM.net Forum
Telestial
PrePaidGSM Home National Operators International Cards Contacts Links



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old
  (#1)
Eric1234 (Offline)
Junior Member
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Join Date: 07 Jun 2012

Country:
Default 3 countries Data Only - 07-06-2012, 09:38

Hello! Very glad I came across this forum. I will be traveling to London, Amsterdam, and Paris in a month and would like to have data for traveling apps and such.
I've never used a SIM before and want to be sure I know what I'm doing before I go. I'll be using my old Sprint Touch Pro 2 as a MiFi, but it won't let me into the settings until I have a SIM in there.

It seems the cheapest way to go is a SIM for each country.

For London I was thinking 3 Three 1GB on Amazon. Great price. I wish they were all this easy. I hope it comes with directions to activate. Do I have to wait until I'm in the country to do this?

Haven't found anything for Amsterdam.

For Paris, thought I'd go with 2004ibiza's Orange with 15 euros credit. I figured this way I could start Internet Max while on the train once I'm inside the border and maybe it will be ready by the time I reach Paris. Hopefully traveling 300km/h doesn't affect it. I've read that you dial #123#. Is this the same for all?

I've been researching this for a couple days and still don't feel confident that I will get this to work. Perhaps getting a cheap US SIM to make sure I can get it to work. Appreciate any help. I am completely new to this.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
andy (Offline)
Moderator
Prepaid Prophet
 
Posts: 2,123
Join Date: 10 Dec 2004

Country:
Default 08-06-2012, 00:38

I agree about cheapest to get a local one for each country

The Three UK SIM will activate automatically when you start using it, just need the settings: APN = 3internet, leave IP address username and password blank
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
kuba.g (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Expert
 
Posts: 228
Join Date: 24 Oct 2010

Country:
Default 08-06-2012, 01:12

How much data do you need in these countries and for how long? It's hard to give suggestions without knowing that :P


For The Netherlands you'll most likely be interested in Aldi Talk - €8 for 250MB or €20 for 750MB, these work on the best network of The Netherlands (KPN), however they are capped (at 200kb/s if I remember correctly).

If you'd only be in big cities (Amsterdam) you could well go with the cheaper T-mobile which gives you 1GB for €15. However this isn't usable on a train from my experience.

If you'd like me to help arrange a sim card for you in The Netherlands, just send a PM


I don't have any experience with French Orange simcards themselves, but I can tell you that using internet on the train is very doable in most European countries as long as you don't count on full 3G coverage - I travel by train a great lot though Europe with prepaid sim cards so I have some experience with this :P Orange is the best network in France as far as I know so I think you'll be set with that.


Mobile internet sim cards:
INT: abroadband, NL: Simyo, *bliep, BE: Colruyt Mobile, MEDIONmobile, LUX: Orange, PL: mBank Mobile,
DE: Congstar, MEDIONmobile, IE: Vodafone, CH: OK Mobil, SwissCom, SE: Telia, ES: MásMovil,
GR: Cosmote, IT: TIM, RO: Vodafone, RS: mt:s, BY: Privet, UA: Kievstar, MD: Moldcell

Feel free to consult me about sim cards in the Benelux and Poland.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
rfranzq (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Specialist
 
rfranzq's Avatar
 
Posts: 774
Join Date: 21 Apr 2009

Country:
Default Somebody has to ask the stupid questions--so I will. - 08-06-2012, 03:09

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric1234 View Post
I've never used a SIM before and want to be sure I know what I'm doing before I go. I'll be using my old Sprint Touch Pro 2 as a MiFi, but it won't let me into the settings until I have a SIM in there.

Uh. Will that Sprint Touch Pro 2 even work in Europe?? Does it have the right frequencies/bands?? Is it unlocked?? I am not even sure I know the right questions to ask??
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
Eric1234 (Offline)
Junior Member
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Join Date: 07 Jun 2012

Country:
Default 09-06-2012, 11:04

Quote:
Originally Posted by rfranzq View Post
Uh. Will that Sprint Touch Pro 2 even work in Europe?? Does it have the right frequencies/bands?? Is it unlocked?? I am not even sure I know the right questions to ask??
Yes, the Sprint Touch Pro 2 was made for travel to Europe. Came with a SIM for Sprint worldwide service, but they have gotten very expensive. They used to have an unlimited data plan that was very reasonable. Phone bands are GSM 850/900/1800/1900 and UMTS 900/2100 for 3G. It came unlocked and is only blocked from US GSM carriers. To test it in the US I would have to unlock and flash a radio.

@kuba.g
Thanks for the offer. I'm not sure how much I'll need, but would like to be around 100MB per day to be safe. Only a few days in each country, but they all seem to be monthly plans. Maybe less in Amsterdam since it seems so easy to get around. I thought that Thalys had wifi on the trains? If so I'd only be using the data in the city. Perhaps I'll just save on shipping by getting the card in Amsterdam. Are there any mobile stores at the airport?

Thank you for the help. Been trying to piece this together so I don't have any surprises. So the Three card activates itself and the Orange I type #123# and go through the menu to select Internet Max. Maybe I was just making it out to be more difficult than it is.

Since I'll probably have some usage left on the cards, is it advisable to sell the remaining time? Is there any issue with it being connected to me? Figured I could come back and sell them for cheap so there isn't any waste.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
kuba.g (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Expert
 
Posts: 228
Join Date: 24 Oct 2010

Country:
Default 10-06-2012, 03:04

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric1234 View Post
@kuba.g
Thanks for the offer. I'm not sure how much I'll need, but would like to be around 100MB per day to be safe. Only a few days in each country, but they all seem to be monthly plans.
Yeah well usually this just means that the megabytes are to be used within one month. And otherwise you can always disable automatic renewal of the plan so in practice you'll pay the fee only once.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric1234 View Post
I thought that Thalys had wifi on the trains? If so I'd only be using the data in the city.
Only in first class. Although it's possible to buy this service for an extra fee if you have second class.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric1234 View Post
Perhaps I'll just save on shipping by getting the card in Amsterdam. Are there any mobile stores at the airport?
There is a hollandsnieuwe automatic selling machine and a Lyca Mobile stand. There is also the "Airport telecom shop" but it was closed last time I was at Schiphol. I have no idea what they sell but for sure they charge much more than normal brand stores.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric1234 View Post
Since I'll probably have some usage left on the cards, is it advisable to sell the remaining time? Is there any issue with it being connected to me? Figured I could come back and sell them for cheap so there isn't any waste.
You can try, although PrePaidGSM is still a rather small community, so don't put too much expectations on a quick & easy sale.
Talking of which... I have a T-Mobile sim card you might be interested in http://www.prepaidgsm.net/forum/buy-...-card-new.html


Mobile internet sim cards:
INT: abroadband, NL: Simyo, *bliep, BE: Colruyt Mobile, MEDIONmobile, LUX: Orange, PL: mBank Mobile,
DE: Congstar, MEDIONmobile, IE: Vodafone, CH: OK Mobil, SwissCom, SE: Telia, ES: MásMovil,
GR: Cosmote, IT: TIM, RO: Vodafone, RS: mt:s, BY: Privet, UA: Kievstar, MD: Moldcell

Feel free to consult me about sim cards in the Benelux and Poland.

Last edited by kuba.g; 10-06-2012 at 03:10..
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
© 2002- ad libitum PrePaidGSM.net