PrePaidGSM.net Forum
Travelsim
PrePaidGSM Home National Operators International Cards Contacts Links



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#1)
mark2000 (Offline)
Junior Member
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Join Date: 09 Jun 2011

Country:
Default AT&T GoPhone data and unlocked iPhone 4 - 09-06-2011, 01:02

Please, people, please!

I have looked everywhere for this and no one seems to have a straight answer. I also get a different answer from all the AT&T stores I call, and I have called stores from coast to coast.

I am in Canada. I just signed up for a GoPhone account with $15 credit. WILL MY IPHONE 4 WORK ON A GOPHONE DATA PLAN OR NOT????????????

There's got to be SOMEONE out there in the world who's tried this before. Anyone, I'm desperate for an answer, I cannot throw any more money into trying to figure this out.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
PhotoJim (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Expert
 
Posts: 389
Join Date: 10 Dec 2006
Location: Regina, SK, CA

Country:
Default 10-06-2011, 16:28

I use the GoPhone data plans on my iPhone 3G (I haven't cut down the SIM to work in my iPhone 4 yet). You have to manually configure the APN, but that's not difficult.

I used it in Buffalo last October and I used it in Boca Raton last month and had no trouble.

I tend to activate the data plan via the web portal before I go to the US, so it's ready when I need it.


CA: SaskTel, Wind postpaid; Rogers, Bell postpaid iPad flex plans; US: T-Mobile postpaid data, prepaid voice; PureTalk (AT&T MVNO) prepaid voice/data; AT&T prepaid iPad plan

Hardware: Too much but notably iPhone 5, iPad Mini Retina LTE, Moto G LTE (N.A. version), iPhone 4. All unlocked.
 Send a message via ICQ to PhotoJim Send a message via MSN to PhotoJim Send a message via Yahoo to PhotoJim Send a message via Skype™ to PhotoJim 
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
mark2000 (Offline)
Junior Member
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Join Date: 09 Jun 2011

Country:
Default 10-06-2011, 18:10

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhotoJim View Post
I use the GoPhone data plans on my iPhone 3G (I haven't cut down the SIM to work in my iPhone 4 yet). You have to manually configure the APN, but that's not difficult.

I used it in Buffalo last October and I used it in Boca Raton last month and had no trouble.

I tend to activate the data plan via the web portal before I go to the US, so it's ready when I need it.
You've nailed my plan down to a tee.

- Will subscribe to the data plan before I take off from Canada in the plane.

- Put in my AT&T SIM in the airplane when I lose cell coverage, when flying to the USA. (using Airplane Mode, of course! )

- Install the APN while I'm in the air, which I plan to save in an email.

- When I land in Newark, I should, if everything goes right, have internet access!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
weekilter (Offline)
Member
Official Member
 
Posts: 38
Join Date: 02 Mar 2010
Location: Seattle, Washington USA

Country:
Default 11-06-2011, 16:49

Quote:
Originally Posted by mark2000 View Post
You've nailed my plan down to a tee.

- Will subscribe to the data plan before I take off from Canada in the plane.

- Put in my AT&T SIM in the airplane when I lose cell coverage, when flying to the USA. (using Airplane Mode, of course! )

- Install the APN while I'm in the air, which I plan to save in an email.

- When I land in Newark, I should, if everything goes right, have internet access!
Don't forget that AT&T will be able to see what you're using by the IMEI being broadcast. I've heard of people attempting to use an iPhone on a GoPhone account only to have it quit working after a period. Officially AT&T doesn't allow iPhones on GoPhone accounts. What may work or may not work always depends.


Current SIMs:

T-Mobile US (prepaid)
T-Mobile NL (prepaid)
Fido CA (prepaid)
Orange IL (prepaid)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
PhotoJim (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Expert
 
Posts: 389
Join Date: 10 Dec 2006
Location: Regina, SK, CA

Country:
Default 11-06-2011, 17:05

Quote:
Originally Posted by weekilter View Post
Don't forget that AT&T will be able to see what you're using by the IMEI being broadcast. I've heard of people attempting to use an iPhone on a GoPhone account only to have it quit working after a period. Officially AT&T doesn't allow iPhones on GoPhone accounts. What may work or may not work always depends.
Mine's been in the US several times (I forgot to mention using it in San Diego in February for a week in addition to Buffalo and Boca, and I used it in Rapid City, SD in September too). No issues yet. Obviously I can't state unequivocally that it won't be a problem but it hasn't been for me.

It wouldn't surprise me if AT&T had this attitude and policy with its own locked iPhones. My iPhone 3G is a Rogers iPhone (software unlocked; official unlock will happen August 1) and my iPhone 4 was bought unlocked from Apple.


CA: SaskTel, Wind postpaid; Rogers, Bell postpaid iPad flex plans; US: T-Mobile postpaid data, prepaid voice; PureTalk (AT&T MVNO) prepaid voice/data; AT&T prepaid iPad plan

Hardware: Too much but notably iPhone 5, iPad Mini Retina LTE, Moto G LTE (N.A. version), iPhone 4. All unlocked.
 Send a message via ICQ to PhotoJim Send a message via MSN to PhotoJim Send a message via Yahoo to PhotoJim Send a message via Skype™ to PhotoJim 
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
mark2000 (Offline)
Junior Member
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Join Date: 09 Jun 2011

Country:
Default 11-06-2011, 18:50

Ya. Maybe AT&T can place those limitations on AT&T-branded iPhones. I'm sure they can see my iPhone using the TAC portion of the IMEI, but the rest of my IMEI shouldn't mean anything to them because it's not an AT&T phone.

Sure they could block it solely based on the TAC portion of the IMEI, but I don't think it works like that. I'm willing to bet its limited to blocking their own IMEIs.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
PhotoJim (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Expert
 
Posts: 389
Join Date: 10 Dec 2006
Location: Regina, SK, CA

Country:
Default 12-06-2011, 00:59

Quote:
Originally Posted by mark2000 View Post
Sure they could block it solely based on the TAC portion of the IMEI, but I don't think it works like that. I'm willing to bet its limited to blocking their own IMEIs.
I can say this much: if AT&T blocks my GoPhone use in my iPhone, I'll simply let my GoPhone account expire. The very reason I have it is to use with my iPhone in the US, and I'm not in the US anywhere close to frequently enough to justify having a postpaid account (that would cost me many times what I pay now anyway). If I had to, I could easily live with T-Mobile.


CA: SaskTel, Wind postpaid; Rogers, Bell postpaid iPad flex plans; US: T-Mobile postpaid data, prepaid voice; PureTalk (AT&T MVNO) prepaid voice/data; AT&T prepaid iPad plan

Hardware: Too much but notably iPhone 5, iPad Mini Retina LTE, Moto G LTE (N.A. version), iPhone 4. All unlocked.
 Send a message via ICQ to PhotoJim Send a message via MSN to PhotoJim Send a message via Yahoo to PhotoJim Send a message via Skype™ to PhotoJim 
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Batman (Offline)
Junior Member
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Join Date: 02 Jul 2011
Location: Whistler, BC

Country:
Default 02-07-2011, 09:04

Mine worked fine the last two times I was in the US. Last time was last week.

If you tried to cut down a larger SIM card, you might need a new one. That's what I tried to do and it broke my sim. I went to an AT&T store and I told them I lost my SIM. I asked for a microsim - they gave me one for free and activated my account on it! (sure beats Rogers)

I setup my custom APN as the last thing I do before getting on the plane or crossing the border. I sign up for the data package when I'm physically in the US. I've never had a problem.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Stu (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Guru
 
Posts: 1,090
Join Date: 11 Feb 2004
Location: Detroit (formerly Dubai)

Country:
Default 02-07-2011, 17:38

The attitudes might loosen up with ATT. US Apple stores now sell fully unlocked (but not jailbroken) iPhone 4s to people willing to pay full freight.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Batman (Offline)
Junior Member
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Join Date: 02 Jul 2011
Location: Whistler, BC

Country:
Default 02-07-2011, 17:53

ATT used to allow prepaid data usage to iPhone users. About two yeas ago they disallowed it. There's always been lots of unlocked iPhones around and ATT probably wanted more revenue by having some folks (that aren't knowledgable) to switch to a monthly plan.



SIMS:
1991-01-15 Rogers (CA)
2008-08-01 AT&T GoPhone (US)
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
2002- ad libitum PrePaidGSM.net