PrePaidGSM.net Forum
Mobal
PrePaidGSM Home National Operators International Cards Contacts Links



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#1)
Bossman (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Guru
 
Posts: 1,239
Join Date: 22 Apr 2005
Location: Chicago

Country:
Default Maxroam - Classic sim rates not available - 04-03-2011, 18:10

In preparation for an upcoming trip, I wanted to decide which sim to use where. So, lates last week I went to maxroam's site to try to verify the rates on my classic sim. It was not on the drop-down. So, I decided to give it a few days. I just checked this am, still can't view the rates on the classic sim.

I have not contacted their customer support yet, since I think they are just updating it or so - Maxroam representative, since you read this forum, can you provide some input.


Phones: ASUS zenfone 3, Nexus 4, Lumia 650 dual sim
Sim cards: AT&T (Contract), 3 UK, Piranha Mobile
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
frenchfry (Offline)
Junior Member
Amateur Member
 
Posts: 27
Join Date: 12 Mar 2009

Country:
Default 04-03-2011, 22:33

It worked the middle of last week. I hope they are not getting ready to kill them.

I think that Qik Roam's rates are the same as the Classic Maxroam.
Qik Roam - GO MOBILE, NOT BROKE
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Bossman (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Guru
 
Posts: 1,239
Join Date: 22 Apr 2005
Location: Chicago

Country:
Default Rates now the GlobalSim rates - Very high! - 06-03-2011, 15:07

I just called their support and they confirmed that the classic sim is no more. Then I asked what are the rates are for those of us that still have the sim. He said it's the same rate as the global sim. If that holds true, that makes this sim quite expensive. Plus, how can they just do that without informing their customers of such a rate change.

For example, in one of the countries I will be visiting, the last time I checked, incoming calls on the classic sim was 0.10 euro, now with the global sim rate incoming calls are now 1.59 euro.


Edit - Hence, for those with classic sim, and if you are still being charged the classic sim rates, expect that to change, probably without any kind of notice.


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchfry View Post
It worked the middle of last week. I hope they are not getting ready to kill them.

I think that Qik Roam's rates are the same as the Classic Maxroam.
Qik Roam - GO MOBILE, NOT BROKE


Phones: ASUS zenfone 3, Nexus 4, Lumia 650 dual sim
Sim cards: AT&T (Contract), 3 UK, Piranha Mobile

Last edited by Bossman; 06-03-2011 at 15:19..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
frenchfry (Offline)
Junior Member
Amateur Member
 
Posts: 27
Join Date: 12 Mar 2009

Country:
Default 10-03-2011, 16:15

The response I got was as follows.

"What my colleague meant is that we are not selling Classic SIMs anymore. However, existing customers who have a Classic SIM card will still be charged the same rates they have always been charged."

I anyone finds more information please post.

Thanks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
Bossman (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Guru
 
Posts: 1,239
Join Date: 22 Apr 2005
Location: Chicago

Country:
Default 10-03-2011, 16:23

Yeah. That response I got did not make sense to me. Obviously, someone there is misinformed. Here is the response to the ticket I opened, just to verify
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

Hello Bosun,

Thank you for your email. We do not sell Classic SIMs anymore and as such they are no longer available as an option for viewing in the rates page. If you wish to view them simply view the Global SIM rates and change the "Call Through Rates" tab to "Call Back Rates".

We apologize for the inconvenience, please let us know if you have any further questions.

Best Regards,
XXXXX XXXXX
MAXROAM Customer Support


Phones: ASUS zenfone 3, Nexus 4, Lumia 650 dual sim
Sim cards: AT&T (Contract), 3 UK, Piranha Mobile
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
frenchfry (Offline)
Junior Member
Amateur Member
 
Posts: 27
Join Date: 12 Mar 2009

Country:
Default 10-03-2011, 17:11

I hope that the "Call Back rate on the Global Sim rates are not the rates of our Classic Sim. A friend is taking my Classic Sim to Peru. The rate I looked up last week for the Classic Sim was $0.75 to call the United States. The "Call Back" rate on the Global Sim is $2.77 to call the United States.

The was given the impression that the rates would stay the same as before.

The response I just got back on looking up the Classic Sim rates is as follows:
"Unfortunately, you will not be able to access call rates for the Classic SIMs anymore as this has caused serious confusion for customers purchasing the Global SIM cards.

We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause you. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you."
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Bossman (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Guru
 
Posts: 1,239
Join Date: 22 Apr 2005
Location: Chicago

Country:
Default 10-03-2011, 17:26

Yes. The rate difference for just about all the countries except Western Europe, between both sims is day and night. The Global sim is a WHOLE lot more expensive.


Phones: ASUS zenfone 3, Nexus 4, Lumia 650 dual sim
Sim cards: AT&T (Contract), 3 UK, Piranha Mobile
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
mingelli (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Fan
 
mingelli's Avatar
 
Posts: 149
Join Date: 22 Mar 2009
Location: Italy roaming on my yacht

Country:
Default 11-03-2011, 09:18

So what are the rates for the Classic Sim, still the old ones or the ones on web now under Global Sim/Callback rates?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Bossman (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Guru
 
Posts: 1,239
Join Date: 22 Apr 2005
Location: Chicago

Country:
Default 11-03-2011, 14:03

It's really anyone's guess. The only way to find out the real thing is by using the sim and see what the charges are. I travel in about 2 weeks and will use it and report back. Unless someone here can use it before then and report here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mingelli View Post
So what are the rates for the Classic Sim, still the old ones or the ones on web now under Global Sim/Callback rates?


Phones: ASUS zenfone 3, Nexus 4, Lumia 650 dual sim
Sim cards: AT&T (Contract), 3 UK, Piranha Mobile
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Bossman (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Guru
 
Posts: 1,239
Join Date: 22 Apr 2005
Location: Chicago

Country:
Default 11-03-2011, 18:07

I think I should mention that the last time I used my sim card and checked my call history, I was never able to, I always got an error. I just tried now, and it's still the same thing. No way to check call history.

Unless they adjust the global sim rates showing on their website, I do not see how anyone in their right minds would choose this sim over the other much better offerings out there.


Phones: ASUS zenfone 3, Nexus 4, Lumia 650 dual sim
Sim cards: AT&T (Contract), 3 UK, Piranha Mobile
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
maxroam

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
2002- ad libitum PrePaidGSM.net