PrePaidGSM.net Forum
telna Mobile
PrePaidGSM Home National Operators International Cards Contacts Links



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old
  (#1)
gouwe28 (Offline)
Junior Member
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Join Date: 30 Jan 2011
Location: Netherlands

Country:
Thumbs down WorldSim - 30-01-2011, 01:19

At the end of November 2010 I purchased a WorldSim card for a trip to Singapore. According to their brochure incoming calls in Singapore were free. When being in Singapore I noticed that incoming calls were now charged at 1.29/minute. When I checked the call rates more accurately I also noticed that incoming calls at Brazil and Azerbaijan, countries that I visit regularly were not free anymore. I complained with Worldsim and it appeared that they had changed rates early December without notice. I told them that the Sim card was useless for me without these three particular countries, and that I would like to have my money back. Not possible was the answer.
Problems with receiving sms messages, where not solved. An email in this respect was not answered.
Conclusion: Try to find another international sim card before to buy one from WorldSim!!
   
Old
  (#2)
rfranzq (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Specialist
 
rfranzq's Avatar
 
Posts: 774
Join Date: 21 Apr 2009

Country:
Default Welcome to our World! - 30-01-2011, 03:32

Things do change in this business. And there is something worse than changing the rates. It is the company going out of business with your balance. However rate changes do happen. The solution is to check the rates shortly before going on the trip to whatever country. I had a WorldSIM card but let it die when they started charging a monthly fee.

Good luck in your searc for a replacement.
   
Old
  (#3)
Bossman (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Professionist
 
Posts: 1,250
Join Date: 22 Apr 2005
Location: Chicago

Country:
Default 30-01-2011, 16:00

As mentioned - Things change a lot in this business. You definitely do or want to have a high balance on these cards or top them up unless you have to. Several of us here have lost money on sim cards belonging to companies that went out of business. I do not topup unless I have to. Also, there is really no guarantee about the rates listed on the website or that the sim will actually work in the country as stated. Most of them just do not update the websites. For example - When I was in Jamaica in April, my Ekit sim will not receive calls even though it was listed on their website. Also, when I was in Mexico last month, my maxroam sim did not work for outgoing or incoming calls. Good thing I had backups.


Phones: Xiaomi Mi Mix 2, ASUS zenfone 3, Nexus 4, Lumia 650 dual sim
Sim cards: AT&T (Contract), 3 UK, Piranha Mobile
   
Old
  (#4)
WorldSIM (Offline)
Junior Member
Amateur Member
 
Posts: 16
Join Date: 31 Jan 2011

Country:
Default 31-01-2011, 12:09

Hi to you all,

My name is Sofia Sousa and I'm the person responsible for WorldSIM's Marketing.

I saw this thread I and I couldn't leave it without a reply.

We are sorry for this situation but if you check our Terms and Conditions you can see that when we make a change to the tariffs we publish such change details on our website, therefore for your convenience you should always check it before you go abroad and use the card.

Although as we are always trying to improve our customer experience and we don't want this kind of situation to happen again because we understand that can cause some inconvenient for users, from now on we will send an email for every customer or newsletter subscriber warning for any important change in our service.

Thank you and hope this helps.

Best regards,
Sofia

www.worldsim.com
   
Old
  (#5)
Vesko (Offline)
Junior Member
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Join Date: 18 Dec 2007

Country:
Default 31-01-2011, 21:45

Hi Sofia, do you now that there is a capital city in Europe having your name?
Do you know that this country (Bulgaria) belongs to the EU since 2007?
Your TariffFinder states that incoming rate in Bulgaria is 0,29 GBP/min.
One has to use the rate calculator to find this.

On the other side: on the top of Worldsim you write: Be Local - FREE incoming calls in 90+ countries inkl. USA & EU.
So Bulgaria schould be free, isn't it?

Now what? Without beeing a customer Im sure that incoming calls to Bulgaria will be charged with 0,29 GBP/min.
This one wrong passage of your product let me refrain from buying something from your page.
In my opinion either the seller is not professional or he is a sharper. I could bet this is not the only passage where marketing takes place over truth.
   
Old
  (#6)
gouwe28 (Offline)
Junior Member
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Join Date: 30 Jan 2011
Location: Netherlands

Country:
Angry WorldSim - 03-02-2011, 01:03

Sofia,
I have read your Terms and Conditions. And I still feel cheated by the way you changed/increased the tariff for more than a Euro per minute, without notice what so ever.

An offer to get my money back would have been appreciated.

And I still am not able to receive sms messages, and an email regarding this problem WorldSim did not bother to answer.
   
Old
  (#7)
bbob (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Expert
 
Posts: 499
Join Date: 20 Feb 2007

Country:
Default 03-02-2011, 10:25

Vesko, there are more mistakes on their website:

Also with two mobile numbers on one sim, a UK and a US number, WorldSIM customers travelling to the US can benefit from receiving free incoming calls, as well as making low cost local calls whilst in the US and internationally.

Again some pure marketing, receiving calls in the usa seems to be free but this only applies to receiving calls on their UK number not on the US number. Although the rate table mentiones this, the above marketing is not very clear about this.

But when you look at the free incoming countries they currently offer 92 where ekit has 70.

Also why does ekit sell their card for 10 pounts ond the internet and worldsim is 35 pounds ?

Sofia, also antoher question on your terms it does not read fair use, how do you handle this when a customer receives significant more incoming than outgoing, some companies have a policy for this.
   
Old
  (#8)
WorldSIM (Offline)
Junior Member
Amateur Member
 
Posts: 16
Join Date: 31 Jan 2011

Country:
Default 03-02-2011, 16:16

Hi to you all,

Vesko, yes and Bulgaria was free until last December but unfortunately roaming rates for this country are now too high and it's impossible for us to continue giving it as a free incoming country. We apology for that but there's nothing we can do about it at this moment, let's see if in a near future we can have better rates for Bulgaria.

I also know that it may be misleading but we always advise to check the rates on our website and that's why we also have a Tariff Quick Finder.

We say "Be Local – FREE incoming calls in 90+ countries incl. USA & EU" but if you take it to the letter USA and EU are not countries.

I don't have a better feedback for you right now and I'm sorry for that but as I told you before it's impossible for us right now to include Bulgaria in the Free incoming countries right now.

Gouwe28, about the messages as you can understand I'm not aware of your situation and I can't give you any feedback on this. What I can advise you is to send an email to info@worldsim.com again and make your complain, if you can give me more details of your WorldSIM account I will also talk with my customer service colleagues and see what I can do for you.
Concerning the tariffs change, like I told you we will send an email for every customer for every change we may have for now on, but for this one I can't do nothing because it is on our Terms and Conditions. We are always trying to improve our customer experience, and all the suggestions and critics are welcome, that's the only way we can be aware of our customers needs.

Bbob, thanks for your opinion. It's impossible to say something in just one phrase and explain every thing or every exception, that's why we have a page just for tariffs where you can see more details, everything it's explained on you website, as far as I'm concerned I don't think we are "lying" to anyone because in fact "WorldSIM customers travelling to the US can benefit from receiving free incoming calls, as well as making low cost local calls whilst in the US and internationally.", you can't say it's not true. Of course you have to see how it works, like you did and everyone does. After reading carefully our website do you think you can be mislead buy something??

About our prices, if you check our competitors each has a different one, it's like this for all the products you can buy, if you are going to buy a car, you will be asked a different price for a Bentley and a Vauxhall , also Ekit has less FREE roaming countries (like you mentioned) and they have a call set up charge and we don't. We are about to launch another product and we will revise the prices at that time. You can be updated on our products joining our Facebook page or following us on Twitter.

At the moment we don't have a fair use policy but we are in the process of evaluating this subject, will be updated on the website as soon as we have it done.

Thank you and hope I could help.

Regards,
Sofia
   
Old
  (#9)
rfranzq (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Specialist
 
rfranzq's Avatar
 
Posts: 774
Join Date: 21 Apr 2009

Country:
Default I beg to differ<g>. - 03-02-2011, 19:23

Quote:
Originally Posted by WorldSIM View Post
We say "Be Local FREE incoming calls in 90+ countries incl. USA & EU" but if you take it to the letter USA and EU are not countries.
I think most people in the USA would argue that the USA is a country.
   
Old
  (#10)
123456 (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Fan
 
Posts: 133
Join Date: 14 Feb 2005

Country:
Default 03-02-2011, 21:13

The problem is that you promise free incoming calls in "the EU", which is NOT true. And on your website there is even the statement "EUROPE receive calls FREE" which is even more untrue. In most countries, also in the UK where WorldSIM seems to be based, such a claim could be regarded as misleading and because of that illegal.
   
Closed Thread

Tags
bulgaria, worldsim

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
2002- ad libitum PrePaidGSM.net