PrePaidGSM.net Forum
Telestial
PrePaidGSM Home National Operators International Cards Contacts Links


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#1)
lizzie1955 (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Fan
 
Posts: 100
Join Date: 20 Aug 2007

Country:
Default Help Setting Up Nokia E71 with Fonic for Data - 28-08-2010, 22:41

Inquisitor, I hope you are out there! I now have my Nokia E71 and a Fonic SIM card. What do I need to do re: entering the necessary settings so that I can access interenet and e-mail. When I went into settings to connection to packet data it said three.co.uk in the box under Access Point. So confused! Help. Thanks, Lizzie
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
90180360 (Offline)
Junior Member
Amateur Member
 
Posts: 23
Join Date: 18 Jul 2010

Country:
Default 28-08-2010, 23:17

APN: pinternet.interkom.de
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
lizzie1955 (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Fan
 
Posts: 100
Join Date: 20 Aug 2007

Country:
Default 28-08-2010, 23:19

I did that. Is there anything else I need to do?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
90180360 (Offline)
Junior Member
Amateur Member
 
Posts: 23
Join Date: 18 Jul 2010

Country:
Default 28-08-2010, 23:22

No






.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
inquisitor (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Professionist
 
inquisitor's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,399
Join Date: 15 Nov 2006

Country:
Default 28-08-2010, 23:35

Actually with Fonic data works no matter what APN you have entered - just make sure there is an APN configured. O2 Germany have made their network last year to connect in any case so you could leave "three.co.uk" as APN or enter "MickeyMouse" or some expletive.
Except for a random APN you don't need to configure anything else on your Nokia E71 in order to get online.
But be aware, that with a regular Fonic SIM (in contrast to a data SIM, that comes with their 3g stick) data is billed by the volume transfered with € 0.24/MB (in 100KB-increments). If you prefer the dayflat, which gives unlimited data for € 2.50/calendar day send a text containing "START TAGESFLAT" to 36642. Probably you will be asked by SMS to confirm this change by answering "JA" to 36642. Also note, that the dayflat is billed by calendar day and NOT by 24 hours - e.g. if you start using data at 11:59 pm you will be charged € 2.50 allthough the day ends in one minute and so does the dayflat.


terminals: Samsung: Galaxy S5 DuoS (G900FD); BLU: Win HD LTE; Nokia: 1200; Asus: Fonepad 7 ME372CG; Huawei data: E3372, Vodafone R201, K3765, E1762;
postpaid: O2 on Business XL; prepaid: DE: Aldi Talk, Lidl; UK: 3; BG: MTel, vivacom; RU: MTS; RS: MTS; UAE: du Tourist SIM; INT'L: toggle mobile
VoIP: sipgate.de (German DID); sipgate.co.uk (British DID); ukddi.com (British DID); sipcall.ch (Swiss DID); megafon.bg (Bulgarian DID); InterVoip.com
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
lizzie1955 (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Fan
 
Posts: 100
Join Date: 20 Aug 2007

Country:
Default 28-08-2010, 23:59

I am going to activate the daily flat rate or monthly flat rate but assumed I needed to wait until I get to Germany to do so. True?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
inquisitor (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Professionist
 
inquisitor's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,399
Join Date: 15 Nov 2006

Country:
Default 29-08-2010, 01:03

You could send that SMS even from abroad if your phone is registered on some (roaming) network.
Actually there's no monthly flatrate with Fonic. They just stop charging for the dayflat as soon as you have had 10 dayflats within a month. Practically that's like a monthly flatrate, but in fact you just use dayflats.


terminals: Samsung: Galaxy S5 DuoS (G900FD); BLU: Win HD LTE; Nokia: 1200; Asus: Fonepad 7 ME372CG; Huawei data: E3372, Vodafone R201, K3765, E1762;
postpaid: O2 on Business XL; prepaid: DE: Aldi Talk, Lidl; UK: 3; BG: MTel, vivacom; RU: MTS; RS: MTS; UAE: du Tourist SIM; INT'L: toggle mobile
VoIP: sipgate.de (German DID); sipgate.co.uk (British DID); ukddi.com (British DID); sipcall.ch (Swiss DID); megafon.bg (Bulgarian DID); InterVoip.com
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
lizzie1955 (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Fan
 
Posts: 100
Join Date: 20 Aug 2007

Country:
Default 29-08-2010, 14:34

Inquisitor, This is the monthly data plan that I though existed for Fonic. Am I not translating properly? Thanks, Lizzie

AUF WUNSCH: Handy-Internet-Paket
Ideal für Smartphone-Nutzer
UMTS / HSDPA Datenflatrate
Voraussetzung: Sie besitzen bereits eine aktivierte FONIC SIM-Karte

EINFACH UND GÜNSTIG
(Alle Preise inkl. MwSt. und Versand)
Monatliche Kosten
9,95 €
Abrechnungszeitraum
ab Aktivierungstag
Aktivierungs-/Deaktivierungskosten
kostenlose SMS
Vertragsbindung
keine
Datenvolumen
unlimitiert
Datenverbindung
(Drosselung auf GPRS ab 200MB/Kalendermonat)
GPRS / UMTS / HSDPA
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
inquisitor (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Professionist
 
inquisitor's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,399
Join Date: 15 Nov 2006

Country:
Default 29-08-2010, 14:48

You are right. This is a flatrate, allthough speed is throttled after reaching 200MB of data volume (which is rather unlikely by mere handset use) and it is officially limited to handset-use (which is not enforced afaik).
To activate this flatrate send a text with "START HANDYINTERNET" to 36642.
If you have already switched to the dayflat, you need to disable the dayflat before you can activate the "Handy-Internet-Paket" by sending "STOP TAGESFLAT" to 36642.
Remember that after each of these text messages Fonic will ask you to confirm the activation/deactivation by sending a "JA" to 36642.


terminals: Samsung: Galaxy S5 DuoS (G900FD); BLU: Win HD LTE; Nokia: 1200; Asus: Fonepad 7 ME372CG; Huawei data: E3372, Vodafone R201, K3765, E1762;
postpaid: O2 on Business XL; prepaid: DE: Aldi Talk, Lidl; UK: 3; BG: MTel, vivacom; RU: MTS; RS: MTS; UAE: du Tourist SIM; INT'L: toggle mobile
VoIP: sipgate.de (German DID); sipgate.co.uk (British DID); ukddi.com (British DID); sipcall.ch (Swiss DID); megafon.bg (Bulgarian DID); InterVoip.com
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
lizzie1955 (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Fan
 
Posts: 100
Join Date: 20 Aug 2007

Country:
Default 29-08-2010, 16:57

I'm only going to be in Germany for 4 days this trip so 200MB on a handset should do it for me. Than you again for all of your help!
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fonic, germany

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
© 2002- ad libitum PrePaidGSM.net