PrePaidGSM.net Forum
telna Mobile
PrePaidGSM Home National Operators International Cards Contacts Links


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old
  (#1)
freedavebrown (Offline)
Junior Member
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Join Date: 02 May 2009

Country:
Default American iPhone in Belgium? - 02-05-2009, 15:23

Hi,

I have some experience using local sims in phone but I have normally just bought a cheap phone when I arrive in Europe.

I will be in Brussels this summer for work for about a month and have an iPhone 3G (ATT) that I would like to be able to use there with a local sim.

IF I can convince ATT to unlock it for me (not sure if I can) would I be able to pop in a BASE/Proximus/Mobistar etc. prepaid sim card and use it over there? Would the data work (if I signed up for one of those 500MB data plans)?

Thanks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
inquisitor (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Professionist
 
inquisitor's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,399
Join Date: 15 Nov 2006

Country:
Default 03-05-2009, 17:59

Yes. There's only one iphone version, which supports UMTS at 850, 1900 (both American bands) and at 2100 MHz (major European band). So if you get your iphone unlocked, you'll be able to use it with any European wireless operator.


terminals: Samsung: Galaxy S5 DuoS (G900FD); BLU: Win HD LTE; Nokia: 1200; Asus: Fonepad 7 ME372CG; Huawei data: E3372, Vodafone R201, K3765, E1762;
postpaid: O2 on Business XL; prepaid: DE: Aldi Talk, Lidl; UK: 3; BG: MTel, vivacom; RU: MTS; RS: MTS; UAE: du Tourist SIM; INT'L: toggle mobile
VoIP: sipgate.de (German DID); sipgate.co.uk (British DID); ukddi.com (British DID); sipcall.ch (Swiss DID); megafon.bg (Bulgarian DID); InterVoip.com
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Stu (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Guru
 
Posts: 1,090
Join Date: 11 Feb 2004
Location: Detroit (formerly Dubai)

Country:
Default 03-05-2009, 21:05

ATT doesn't unlock iPhones. Their contract with Apple prohibits it. There are plenty of unlocking solutions available for the iPhone and they are pretty straight forward. Just don't be the first kid on the block to upgrade your firmware. Each upgrade seems to relock the phone.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
2002- ad libitum PrePaidGSM.net