PrePaidGSM.net Forum
Travelsim
PrePaidGSM Home National Operators International Cards Contacts Links


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#1)
noddy (Offline)
Junior Member
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Join Date: 15 Jul 2007

Country:
Default Going to ITALY - Wind or TIM for data - 15-07-2007, 23:21

Hi,

I'll be travelling to Italy soon and need to use the laptop whilst I'm away. I have a Vodafone 3G datacard but the cost of roaming is 5/Mb

Are the pre-paid sims readily available at the airport (FCO) and can anyone recommend the best network for coverage in Formia (Latina)

Alternatively can anyone on the forum provide a prepaid sim?

Thanks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
Effendi (Offline)
The great Dictator!
Prepaid Prophet
 
Effendi's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,486
Join Date: 13 Jan 2004
Location: Trieste/Trst

Country:
Default 16-07-2007, 08:10

You can buy a prepaid sim anywhere in Italy with no problem, just follow the instructions in one of the many discussions about or directly on the Italy page on this website.

Wind is cheaper, TIM has better coverage in 3G.
At FCO there are TIM, Vodafone and 3, no Wind shop AFAIK. 3 also has good offers on 3G.


Working Prepaids: IT: Wind, Vodafone IT, UNO Mobile; SM: Prima; UK: 3, Virgin; INT: TravelSIM, Truphone.
Deceased Prepaids: CZ: Oskar, Eurotel; SK: Orange; DE: E-Plus, Aldi, Simyo; GE: Geocell; AM: Armentel; PL: Heyah, Plus; LT: Tele2; LV: Amigo; EE: Elisa; UA: Kyivstar; NZ: Vodafone; INT: UM, UM+, ICQSim.
GSM/3G Phones: Nokia Lumia 630 dual sim
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
AndreA (Offline)
Administrator
Prepaid Genius
 
AndreA's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,661
Join Date: 13 Jan 2004
Location: Florence, Italy

Country:
Default 16-07-2007, 13:25

If I can remember Formia has 3G coverage by Tim, vodafone and H3G too.


ANTPEAΣ AΠO THN ΦΛΩPENTIA
My Phones:
iPhone 2G, E65, N70, P910 DVB-H, A835, 6630, 7600, 6210, S55, T39
"Working" PrePaids: IT: Wind, H3G, Vodafone, Tim, CoopVoce, Poste Mobile, Telepass Mobile,
Uno Mobile - CH: OrangeClick - RSM: Prima Easy - UK: O2, H3G - INT: United Mobile, TravelSim, ICQ SIM
"Deceased" PrePaids: IT: Blu - AT: H3G - FR: Itineris - ES: Yoigo - GR: Cosmote, Frog - HR: Tele2 - UK: Virgin, Orange TO: UCall - NZ: Vodafone - IN: Hutch - CAN: Fido - USA: T-Mobile - INT: Travelfone, CallKey, Globalsim, HopMobile, GT, 09, Mobal, Yackiemobile

ITALIAN TLC BLOG

 Send a message via ICQ to AndreA Send a message via AIM to AndreA Send a message via MSN to AndreA Send a message via Skype™ to AndreA 
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
capitanissa (Offline)
Junior Member
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Join Date: 10 Nov 2011

Country:
Default Great deal from COOP - 10-11-2011, 12:27

1 GIGA/ MONTH 8 EURO
5 GIGA/MONTH 18

Web 5 giga

buy a COOP SIM at any COOP supermarket.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
kimdo (Offline)
Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 97
Join Date: 11 Oct 2011

Country:
Default 11-12-2011, 14:06

Quote:
Originally Posted by capitanissa View Post
1 GIGA/ MONTH 8 EURO
5 GIGA/MONTH 18

Web 5 giga

buy a COOP SIM at any COOP supermarket.
Can it be used in Mifi? I mean pocket wifi device.

If ok, what is the APN foe this SIM Card setting?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Effendi (Offline)
The great Dictator!
Prepaid Prophet
 
Effendi's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,486
Join Date: 13 Jan 2004
Location: Trieste/Trst

Country:
Default 12-12-2011, 08:30

Just click on "configurazioni" on that page and you get the settings.
BTW the APN is web.coopvoce.it so you can use it for tethering, on an usb bundle or on a Mifi, no problem.


Working Prepaids: IT: Wind, Vodafone IT, UNO Mobile; SM: Prima; UK: 3, Virgin; INT: TravelSIM, Truphone.
Deceased Prepaids: CZ: Oskar, Eurotel; SK: Orange; DE: E-Plus, Aldi, Simyo; GE: Geocell; AM: Armentel; PL: Heyah, Plus; LT: Tele2; LV: Amigo; EE: Elisa; UA: Kyivstar; NZ: Vodafone; INT: UM, UM+, ICQSim.
GSM/3G Phones: Nokia Lumia 630 dual sim
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
kimdo (Offline)
Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 97
Join Date: 11 Oct 2011

Country:
Default 12-12-2011, 08:57

Quote:
Originally Posted by Effendi View Post
Just click on "configurazioni" on that page and you get the settings.
BTW the APN is web.coopvoce.it so you can use it for tethering, on an usb bundle or on a Mifi, no problem.

Thanks a lot.

Compare with TIM, which one is better? I will travel Italy coming year... Roma>Firenze>Venezia>Milano, so... I need a stable and good SIM card.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Effendi (Offline)
The great Dictator!
Prepaid Prophet
 
Effendi's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,486
Join Date: 13 Jan 2004
Location: Trieste/Trst

Country:
Default 13-12-2011, 16:19

Coopvoce uses TIM's network so they are exactly the same.


Working Prepaids: IT: Wind, Vodafone IT, UNO Mobile; SM: Prima; UK: 3, Virgin; INT: TravelSIM, Truphone.
Deceased Prepaids: CZ: Oskar, Eurotel; SK: Orange; DE: E-Plus, Aldi, Simyo; GE: Geocell; AM: Armentel; PL: Heyah, Plus; LT: Tele2; LV: Amigo; EE: Elisa; UA: Kyivstar; NZ: Vodafone; INT: UM, UM+, ICQSim.
GSM/3G Phones: Nokia Lumia 630 dual sim
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
kimdo (Offline)
Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 97
Join Date: 11 Oct 2011

Country:
Default 14-12-2011, 03:48

Quote:
Originally Posted by Effendi View Post
Coopvoce uses TIM's network so they are exactly the same.
Great! Thanks a lot
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
mingelli (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Fan
 
mingelli's Avatar
 
Posts: 149
Join Date: 22 Mar 2009
Location: Italy roaming on my yacht

Country:
Default 14-12-2011, 13:03

Is this offer also good for Voip services or those are not allowed? TIM only allows Voip on most expensive offers.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
2002- ad libitum PrePaidGSM.net