PrePaidGSM.net Forum (Archived)

Old
  (#1)
charlosian (Offline)

Default phone help - 28-03-2007, 22:58

hi, im new here and i have a serious question.
i live in usa and this summer i will travel to hiroshima to study abroad for a while.
i need a cell phone that can be used internationally, that i can own, not rent
i want to use it in japan and in the usa when i return so i can continue to make calls to japan on it. i have looked into gsm phones, but i noticed japan uses 3G
i have a phone in mind that i want to see if it will work as like a prepaid phone
http://www.popularelect.com/product...products_id=356
now i need to know how to set this phone up, i hear a sim card wont work for japan, but i want it set up japan use mostly, so if anyone knows good services
to make it prepaid and still work when i get back to us can i get links and more info. im really new to the international phone thing i have read the other pages about 09 and celtrek but those still seem like a lot. but i wonder if there is anything cheaper or any other new methods.
thanks

Old
  (#2)
Effendi (Offline)
The great Dictator!
Prepaid Prophet

Default 29-03-2007, 08:57

I think it's easier if you get a contract there in Japan, including a PDC or 3G phone, and use it once you are there in Hiroshima. Of course that's not a good solution if you plan to stay there 1/2 weeks, but if you stay longer it's surely better. AFAIK no Japanese operators sell prepaid sim-cards only on 3G, they just have some PDC prepaid kits (phone+prepaid card).
Using United Mobile or 09 for longer period should not be a great idea...

Working Prepaids: IT: Wind, Vodafone IT, UNO Mobile; SM: Prima; UK: 3, Virgin; INT: TravelSIM, Truphone.
Deceased Prepaids: CZ: Oskar, Eurotel; SK: Orange; DE: E-Plus, Aldi, Simyo; GE: Geocell; AM: Armentel; PL: Heyah, Plus; LT: Tele2; LV: Amigo; EE: Elisa; UA: Kyivstar; NZ: Vodafone; INT: UM, UM+, ICQSim.
GSM/3G Phones: Nokia Lumia 630 dual sim

Old
  (#3)
Yazcedric (Offline)
Amateur Member