PrePaidGSM.net Forum
Telestial
PrePaidGSM Home National Operators International Cards Contacts Links


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#11)
gemini (Offline)
Junior Member
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Join Date: 01 Jul 2007
Location: London

Country:
Default 04-07-2007, 16:34

I didn't try that, instead I went through a VPN and it worked. Thanks anyway.

By the way, I forgot to write that the declared max fee of 1 per a day turned out to be truth, but again - I didn't download a lot, just few megs.

Thomas
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Richard10002 (Offline)
Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 60
Join Date: 03 Oct 2006

Country:
Default T-Mobile PAYG - 05-07-2007, 00:55

I used a T-Mobile PAYG SIM in a datacard in my laptop from around September 2006 to June` 2007 as my sole home connection to the internet.

384Kbps, (whatever that means, constantly, for 1 per day.

I understand that if they spot what you are doing, they will take some action, but I dont know what.

Also used it in an unlocked T-Mobile Vario II, both independently, and connected to the laptop as a modem - no problems.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
shipper (Offline)
Junior Member
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Join Date: 29 Aug 2007

Country:
Default 29-08-2007, 04:33

Hi!

I am going to visit London in a few weeks and I'm interested in this data offer of T-Mobile UK. My idea is to use my K610i as a modem for my laptop.

I hope you can answer some of my questions:


- Is it possible to use VOIP or are there any ports blocked by T-Mobile?

- Where is the best place to buy the PAYG SIM? Is it only avaible at T-Mobile stores or are there other places to buy one?

- How much is it at stores? I have only found information about the price if you order it online... Or my english is too bad

- Do you have some information about the latency (ping) of the 3G network in London? I am going to stay in Kingston upon Thames (SW 16).

- How do I credit the PAYG card? Are there any scratching cards to buy? Which amounts are avaible?


Thanks in advance for your help!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
PhotoJim (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Expert
 
Posts: 389
Join Date: 10 Dec 2006
Location: Regina, SK, CA

Country:
Default 29-08-2007, 05:29

Using T-Mobile that way, tethered, is against the terms of service, and using it for VoIP is specifically listed as being against the terms of service.


CA: SaskTel, Wind postpaid; Rogers, Bell postpaid iPad flex plans; US: T-Mobile postpaid data, prepaid voice; PureTalk (AT&T MVNO) prepaid voice/data; AT&T prepaid iPad plan

Hardware: Too much but notably iPhone 5, iPad Mini Retina LTE, Moto G LTE (N.A. version), iPhone 4. All unlocked.
 Send a message via ICQ to PhotoJim Send a message via MSN to PhotoJim Send a message via Yahoo to PhotoJim Send a message via Skype™ to PhotoJim 
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
shipper (Offline)
Junior Member
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Join Date: 29 Aug 2007

Country:
Default 30-08-2007, 14:02

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhotoJim View Post
Using T-Mobile that way, tethered, is against the terms of service, and using it for VoIP is specifically listed as being against the terms of service.
Ok, but do you know if it is possible to use a T-Mobile PAYG that way?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
PhotoJim (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Expert
 
Posts: 389
Join Date: 10 Dec 2006
Location: Regina, SK, CA

Country:
Default 30-08-2007, 16:37

Ask me in a few days. I'll be in London Saturday and I'm certainly going to give it a try.


CA: SaskTel, Wind postpaid; Rogers, Bell postpaid iPad flex plans; US: T-Mobile postpaid data, prepaid voice; PureTalk (AT&T MVNO) prepaid voice/data; AT&T prepaid iPad plan

Hardware: Too much but notably iPhone 5, iPad Mini Retina LTE, Moto G LTE (N.A. version), iPhone 4. All unlocked.
 Send a message via ICQ to PhotoJim Send a message via MSN to PhotoJim Send a message via Yahoo to PhotoJim Send a message via Skype™ to PhotoJim 
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Richard10002 (Offline)
Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 60
Join Date: 03 Oct 2006

Country:
Default 30-08-2007, 20:35

Quote:
Originally Posted by shipper View Post
Ok, but do you know if it is possible to use a T-Mobile PAYG that way?
Did you see my post further up the thread - I used a T-Mobile PAYG SIM in a datacard in my laptop from September 2006 to June 2007.

It worked at 3G speeds, it cost 1 per day with no apparent limits, and nobody told me to stop. 3G is fast enough for VOIP, (I use 3G for VOIP from italy to the UK), but I didnt use it for VOIP as I didnt want to push my luck, but I'm sure it would work.

The short answer is YES.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
PhotoJim (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Expert
 
Posts: 389
Join Date: 10 Dec 2006
Location: Regina, SK, CA

Country:
Default 30-08-2007, 20:43

Now I just need to find a cheap 3G phone then


CA: SaskTel, Wind postpaid; Rogers, Bell postpaid iPad flex plans; US: T-Mobile postpaid data, prepaid voice; PureTalk (AT&T MVNO) prepaid voice/data; AT&T prepaid iPad plan

Hardware: Too much but notably iPhone 5, iPad Mini Retina LTE, Moto G LTE (N.A. version), iPhone 4. All unlocked.
 Send a message via ICQ to PhotoJim Send a message via MSN to PhotoJim Send a message via Yahoo to PhotoJim Send a message via Skype™ to PhotoJim 
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
roj (Offline)
Junior Member
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Join Date: 31 Jul 2007
Location: near Oxford

Country:
Default T-Mobile data offer in the UK - 01-09-2007, 02:07

PhotoJim, Richard 100002,
Now I need you to step beyond the UK. I particularly want to use the WEB for local access in Normandy for perhaps 2 weeks next year - one week prior within the UK for set-up and checking usage, one week in-country for determining holiday sites. This would be purely for holiday period, no more = no tethering/no contract/ etc..
I do not need anything other than evening WEB access - no E-mail, no phone.

I am unsure as to download amount - with graphics curtailed to small pics, perhaps no more than 50 MB per evening.

On my broad-band desktop (4 MB/s), searching for "modem access", "GSM" and "suppliers" has led to 2GB in ~30 days, just trawling phone cos, SIMs and costs.

All I need is a 1 month SIM - I think? Orange/Vodafone/?

Any thoughts/suggestions/hope you can help, please.
Cheers,
roj
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
PhotoJim (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Expert
 
Posts: 389
Join Date: 10 Dec 2006
Location: Regina, SK, CA

Country:
Default 04-09-2007, 10:10

I can't help you with France, alas. I didn't research French providers as I'm not heading there on this trip.

T-Mobile is really good for data in the UK. If they operate in France, they'd be worth exploring.


CA: SaskTel, Wind postpaid; Rogers, Bell postpaid iPad flex plans; US: T-Mobile postpaid data, prepaid voice; PureTalk (AT&T MVNO) prepaid voice/data; AT&T prepaid iPad plan

Hardware: Too much but notably iPhone 5, iPad Mini Retina LTE, Moto G LTE (N.A. version), iPhone 4. All unlocked.
 Send a message via ICQ to PhotoJim Send a message via MSN to PhotoJim Send a message via Yahoo to PhotoJim Send a message via Skype™ to PhotoJim 
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
2002- ad libitum PrePaidGSM.net