PrePaidGSM.net Forum
Mobal
PrePaidGSM Home National Operators International Cards Contacts Links



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#1)
PhotoJim (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Expert
 
Posts: 389
Join Date: 10 Dec 2006
Location: Regina, SK, CA

Country:
Default eKit Simple Calling in Canada - roams on Bell now - 12-06-2011, 16:49

I can't remember if I saw it here already or not, but I thought I'd report in case it's news.

eKit Simple Calling SIMs now roam on Bell in Canada in addition to Rogers. Confirmed, just now, in Regina, Saskatchewan (Bell has no native coverage here but it has a roaming agreement with SaskTel and the SaskTel towers transmit Bell's code as well as Telus' and their own).

This will be handy because my main Canadian coverage is with Rogers but we're about to go to Nova Scotia, and the Bell coverage footprint is quite a bit larger than Rogers'. We can use eKit as a backup.

Anyway, I thought I'd report in case this is useful to anyone else.


CA: SaskTel, Wind postpaid; Rogers, Bell postpaid iPad flex plans; US: T-Mobile postpaid data, prepaid voice; PureTalk (AT&T MVNO) prepaid voice/data; AT&T prepaid iPad plan

Hardware: Too much but notably iPhone 5, iPad Mini Retina LTE, Moto G LTE (N.A. version), iPhone 4. All unlocked.
 Send a message via ICQ to PhotoJim Send a message via MSN to PhotoJim Send a message via Yahoo to PhotoJim Send a message via Skype™ to PhotoJim 
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
RTuesday (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Expert
 
Posts: 344
Join Date: 28 Mar 2005
Location: See flag

Country:
Default 13-06-2011, 01:30

Here in Victoria, BC the eKit Simple Calling (US+Can only version) roams on Rogers (GSM 1900), and Telus (UMTS 850).

The Telus 3G coverage is better than Rogers GSM in some rural areas out of town.

There isn't any roaming permitted on Rogers UMTS/3G ("no access").

Could your Sasktel access be via Telus roaming, rather than Bell? (or are Bell/Telus essentially the same company, for 3G coverage?)


Sims: Telcel MX, T-Mobile US, Virgin Mobile UK, Orange UK, Knowroaming
Voip: Localphone UK, Anveo US, Google Voice

Last edited by RTuesday; 13-06-2011 at 01:41..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
adam917 (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Fan
 
Posts: 187
Join Date: 14 Sep 2008
Location: North America

Country:
Default 13-06-2011, 04:56

Quote:
Originally Posted by RTuesday View Post
Here in Victoria, BC the eKit Simple Calling (US+Can only version) roams on Rogers (GSM 1900), and Telus (UMTS 850).

The Telus 3G coverage is better than Rogers GSM in some rural areas out of town.

There isn't any roaming permitted on Rogers UMTS/3G ("no access").

Could your Sasktel access be via Telus roaming, rather than Bell? (or are Bell/Telus essentially the same company, for 3G coverage?)
Same network.


Active SIMs:
2007-05-14: T-Mobile post-paid (USA: 267)
2007-12: T-Mobile pre-paid (USA: 857)
2009-01-21: Mobal World (UK)
2010-06-08: TracFone (USA: 215)
2011-03-12: Tru (USA: 305)
2011-08-01: AT&T pre-paid (USA: 212)
2011-08-22: Spot Mobile (USA: 603)
 Send a message via ICQ to adam917 Send a message via AIM to adam917 Send a message via MSN to adam917 Send a message via Yahoo to adam917 Send a message via Skype™ to adam917 
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
PhotoJim (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Expert
 
Posts: 389
Join Date: 10 Dec 2006
Location: Regina, SK, CA

Country:
Default 13-06-2011, 19:59

Quote:
Originally Posted by RTuesday View Post
Could your Sasktel access be via Telus roaming, rather than Bell? (or are Bell/Telus essentially the same company, for 3G coverage?)
My Nokia E63 is displaying "Bell" as the carrier, so I'm assuming it's using Bell's SSID and not Telus'. Not positive, though, as I'm no expert at this. It's certainly not using SaskTel's SSID or it would display SaskTel.


CA: SaskTel, Wind postpaid; Rogers, Bell postpaid iPad flex plans; US: T-Mobile postpaid data, prepaid voice; PureTalk (AT&T MVNO) prepaid voice/data; AT&T prepaid iPad plan

Hardware: Too much but notably iPhone 5, iPad Mini Retina LTE, Moto G LTE (N.A. version), iPhone 4. All unlocked.
 Send a message via ICQ to PhotoJim Send a message via MSN to PhotoJim Send a message via Yahoo to PhotoJim Send a message via Skype™ to PhotoJim 
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
PhotoJim (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Expert
 
Posts: 389
Join Date: 10 Dec 2006
Location: Regina, SK, CA

Country:
Default 25-06-2011, 12:48

Just to confirm - successful roaming on Bell Aliant here in Nova Scotia. My phone seemed to prefer Rogers, but after a trip along the coast south of Halifax it locked onto Bell and it's been on Bell since, continuing here in Cape Breton.


CA: SaskTel, Wind postpaid; Rogers, Bell postpaid iPad flex plans; US: T-Mobile postpaid data, prepaid voice; PureTalk (AT&T MVNO) prepaid voice/data; AT&T prepaid iPad plan

Hardware: Too much but notably iPhone 5, iPad Mini Retina LTE, Moto G LTE (N.A. version), iPhone 4. All unlocked.
 Send a message via ICQ to PhotoJim Send a message via MSN to PhotoJim Send a message via Yahoo to PhotoJim Send a message via Skype™ to PhotoJim 
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
PhotoJim (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Expert
 
Posts: 389
Join Date: 10 Dec 2006
Location: Regina, SK, CA

Country:
Default 27-06-2011, 01:57

More information:

Incoming calls work fine via Bell, but outgoing calls are blocked.

I sent a message to customer service this morning and was advised that while incoming calls would work fine, outgoing calls were definitely not supported. The representative was silent on the issue of whether this might change.

I replied encouraging eKit to allow outgoing calls via Bell in future because it would greatly increase the utility of their product. Presumably an incoming call minute with Bell costs the same as an outgoing call minute, and the only issue is getting notification from Bell that the outgoing call is being made so that the account can be charged accordingly. Hopefully this can be done because there are several provinces (NS, NL and SK) where Bell's network kicks Rogers' butt.


CA: SaskTel, Wind postpaid; Rogers, Bell postpaid iPad flex plans; US: T-Mobile postpaid data, prepaid voice; PureTalk (AT&T MVNO) prepaid voice/data; AT&T prepaid iPad plan

Hardware: Too much but notably iPhone 5, iPad Mini Retina LTE, Moto G LTE (N.A. version), iPhone 4. All unlocked.
 Send a message via ICQ to PhotoJim Send a message via MSN to PhotoJim Send a message via Yahoo to PhotoJim Send a message via Skype™ to PhotoJim 
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Stu (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Guru
 
Posts: 1,090
Join Date: 11 Feb 2004
Location: Detroit (formerly Dubai)

Country:
Default 27-06-2011, 03:38

Interesting. I will be in Canada tomorrow with an eKit Passport. I will report on whether it works on Bell.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Stu (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Guru
 
Posts: 1,090
Join Date: 11 Feb 2004
Location: Detroit (formerly Dubai)

Country:
Default 27-06-2011, 14:11

I just remembered that my E66 only has Euro HSPA. It looks like I'll be on Rogers.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
RTuesday (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Expert
 
Posts: 344
Join Date: 28 Mar 2005
Location: See flag

Country:
Default 27-06-2011, 19:40

Ekit works fine for both outbound and inbound on Telus 3G in British Columbia, which is odd if it's the shared network with Bell and Sasktel.


Sims: Telcel MX, T-Mobile US, Virgin Mobile UK, Orange UK, Knowroaming
Voip: Localphone UK, Anveo US, Google Voice
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
PhotoJim (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Expert
 
Posts: 389
Join Date: 10 Dec 2006
Location: Regina, SK, CA

Country:
Default 28-06-2011, 01:48

Quote:
Originally Posted by RTuesday View Post
Ekit works fine for both outbound and inbound on Telus 3G in British Columbia, which is odd if it's the shared network with Bell and Sasktel.
I don't remember if I tried placing an outgoing call when I was at home in Saskatchewan. The phone certainly registers and takes incoming calls. I'm home next weekend and if I remember, I will try it on Sunday and see what happens.

I have a PagePlus phone too (CDMA and roams in Canada) and while it works perfectly in Saskatchewan, it only works for incoming calls in Newfoundland - at least as of 2009. I wonder if that issue is related. Newfoundland is Bell Aliant and so is Nova Scotia, but Saskatchewan is technically SaskTel (although their HSPA network broadcasts the Bell code also).


CA: SaskTel, Wind postpaid; Rogers, Bell postpaid iPad flex plans; US: T-Mobile postpaid data, prepaid voice; PureTalk (AT&T MVNO) prepaid voice/data; AT&T prepaid iPad plan

Hardware: Too much but notably iPhone 5, iPad Mini Retina LTE, Moto G LTE (N.A. version), iPhone 4. All unlocked.
 Send a message via ICQ to PhotoJim Send a message via MSN to PhotoJim Send a message via Yahoo to PhotoJim Send a message via Skype™ to PhotoJim 
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
2002- ad libitum PrePaidGSM.net