PrePaidGSM.net Forum (Archived)

Old
  (#1)
calm (Offline)

Default 16-02-2006, 19:10

Hi guys,
I am a newbie so please don't shoot me with my stupid question. Anyway I have been looking all over but can't seem to find the answer. Is there any prepaid 3G service in Japan? one that you could bring your UTMS phone to use? Any help would be appreciates.

Old
  (#2)
Effendi (Offline)
The great Dictator!
Prepaid Prophet

Default 16-02-2006, 19:41

I just put a page about Japan on this site today, but as you can see, from what I could undertand from DoCoMo and Vodafone KK's sites, there is no 3G prepaid offer by now.

But Riiing/United Mobile seems to work well over there.

Working Prepaids: IT: Wind, Vodafone IT, UNO Mobile; SM: Prima; UK: 3, Virgin; INT: TravelSIM, Truphone.
Deceased Prepaids: CZ: Oskar, Eurotel; SK: Orange; DE: E-Plus, Aldi, Simyo; GE: Geocell; AM: Armentel; PL: Heyah, Plus; LT: Tele2; LV: Amigo; EE: Elisa; UA: Kyivstar; NZ: Vodafone; INT: UM, UM+, ICQSim.
GSM/3G Phones: Nokia Lumia 630 dual sim

Old
  (#3)
DRNewcomb (Offline)
Prepaid Professionist

Default 16-02-2006, 23:35

Last time I was in Japan, about a year ago, I asked if Vodafone had any prepaid SIMs. The answer was, "No." They do have prepaid PDC phones. I'll be back in Japan in a few months and ask again, but I think the answer will still be, "No." But as Effendi said, I have tested Riiing and it worked but seemd to be in a unique pricing zone at (as I recall) 59cts/min for incoming calls.

Old
  (#4)
calm (Offline)

Default 17-02-2006, 04:36

I am not talking about CDMA prepaid. I am talking about GSM prepaid. Effendi, could you confirm that Riing/United sim works in Japan?

Old
  (#5)
calm (Offline)

Default 17-02-2006, 04:38

I went to United Mobile page, they don't offer service in Japan.

Old
  (#6)
Effendi (Offline)
The great Dictator!
Prepaid Prophet

Default 17-02-2006, 08:08

Quote:
Originally Posted by calm