PrePaidGSM.net Forum
Telestial
PrePaidGSM Home National Operators International Cards Contacts Links



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#1)
unlocked (Offline)
Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 77
Join Date: 01 Apr 2004
Location: North Carolina

Country:
Default 31-05-2006, 18:12

Just bought what was advertised as a Quad Band Motorola L6 on internet. Great phone but the factory sticker on the box (the computer-printed one with all the serial numbers, IMEI, etc) says it's a GSM 900/1800/1900. I emailed the seller who said ignore the box, the phone's been "flashed" and it has 850.

My questions:

1. Is it possible to "flash" an additional frequency into a phone? I've never heard of upgrading a phone this way before but then there's a lot I've never heard of.

2. Is there a way to verify the phone works on 850? I don't THINK I have any 850 carriers around here (North Carolina) but can't find coverage maps that separate out 850 from 1900.

Thanks to all you techies.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
Triband81 (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Pioneer
 
Triband81's Avatar
 
Posts: 529
Join Date: 01 Dec 2004
Location: Köln

Country:
Default 31-05-2006, 20:25

Quote:
Originally Posted by unlocked
Just bought what was advertised as a Quad Band Motorola L6 on internet. Great phone but the factory sticker on the box (the computer-printed one with all the serial numbers, IMEI, etc) says it's a GSM 900/1800/1900. I emailed the seller who said ignore the box, the phone's been "flashed" and it has 850.

My questions:

1. Is it possible to "flash" an additional frequency into a phone? I've never heard of upgrading a phone this way before but then there's a lot I've never heard of.

2. Is there a way to verify the phone works on 850? I don't THINK I have any 850 carriers around here (North Carolina) but can't find coverage maps that separate out 850 from 1900.

Thanks to all you techies.
1) Answer: Yes, it is possible on Motorola phones that have the GSM 850 disabled. The major factor here is the flash/flex version on the phone. You can flash your own Motorola phone if you have a USB cable with a USB --> miniUSB (the ones used on digital cameras for example) connecter. You have to use a flashing tool such as Motorola's PST, multiflashflex or RSD Lite.

Look for more info on Motomodders.net:
http://www.motomodders.net/Default.aspx?ta...pics&forumid=56
http://www.motomodders.net/Default.aspx?tabid=69
http://www.motomodders.net/Default.aspx?ta...iew&articleId=8
http://www.motomodders.net/Default.a...d=55&afgroup=9

However, Phonescoop.com lists the L6 as being triband only.

2) The only way to see if the Moto is connecting to 850 is to have the Field Engineering Menu activated. You have to seem edit this feature meaning you have to change certain values in the number tables on the phone.

Seem Editing: http://www.motox.us/motox101/seem_editing.htm
FEM Menu: http://www.motomodders.net/Default.aspx?ta...ew&articleId=29
  Send a message via MSN to Triband81  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
snaimon (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Specialist
 
snaimon's Avatar
 
Posts: 898
Join Date: 17 Mar 2004
Location: Richmond, VA USA

Country:
Default 01-06-2006, 02:04

See http://www.t-mobile.com/coverage/

NC has 1900 roaming with Cingy. You have to go to KY or WVA.

On the Moto site, all i could find was the TRIBAND manual.

HOWEVER, on Ebay, they SAY they have "new" L6s that are quad-band. Cannot confirm this other than pointing you to Ebay and you have to BELIEVE the claims. It certainly is POSSIBLE that they would for the US market bring out a quad-band.

Best I can do for you.

Stan


Phones: DASH V3 (3)
Service: US T-MO post paid (2) - US T-MO prepaid (2) - UM+ - TravelSIM DE SIMYO - DE SUNSIM T-Mobile DE
Calling Cards: Onesuite Enjoyprepaid AT&T MCI Mobivox
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Effendi (Offline)
The great Dictator!
Prepaid Prophet
 
Effendi's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,486
Join Date: 13 Jan 2004
Location: Trieste/Trst

Country:
Default 01-06-2006, 08:01

On Motorola's US official site they say the L6 is quad-band click and then "Performance Features".


Working Prepaids: IT: Wind, Vodafone IT, UNO Mobile; SM: Prima; UK: 3, Virgin; INT: TravelSIM, Truphone.
Deceased Prepaids: CZ: Oskar, Eurotel; SK: Orange; DE: E-Plus, Aldi, Simyo; GE: Geocell; AM: Armentel; PL: Heyah, Plus; LT: Tele2; LV: Amigo; EE: Elisa; UA: Kyivstar; NZ: Vodafone; INT: UM, UM+, ICQSim.
GSM/3G Phones: Nokia Lumia 630 dual sim
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
unlocked (Offline)
Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 77
Join Date: 01 Apr 2004
Location: North Carolina

Country:
Default 01-06-2006, 17:29

This forum always comes through! Thanks to Triband81 I'm satisfied this phone CAN be flashed to add 850. Looks like at least on earlier models the phone's processor was capable of quadband but for whatever reason Motorola shipped them as tribands (850/1800/1900 to North America, 900/1800/1900 to everwhere else).

That leaves the question of whether in fact it has been flashed, and I'm not comfortable activating and poking around the Field Engineering Menu.

But, I've become reasonably happy since if I dig down through a few menus on the phone "Quad-Band GSM" displays (Settings-Phone Status-Other Information-Technology).

Also, if I look under Settings-Network-Network Setup-Band I see I can choose Automatic, 850/1900, or 900/1800.

That's enough to bring my bloodpressure back to normal.

Thanks to all.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Triband81 (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Pioneer
 
Triband81's Avatar
 
Posts: 529
Join Date: 01 Dec 2004
Location: Köln

Country:
Default 01-06-2006, 20:04

Even if the phone says it has GSM 850, it may not necessarily be so since some Motorola flash releases show bands that the phone may not have. You'll try out the phone in an area where GSM 850 is more widespread to see if the phone maintains coverage.
  Send a message via MSN to Triband81  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
© 2002- ad libitum PrePaidGSM.net