PrePaidGSM.net Forum
Mobal
PrePaidGSM Home National Operators International Cards Contacts Links



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#11)
inquisitor (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Professionist
 
inquisitor's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,399
Join Date: 15 Nov 2006

Country:
Default 23-10-2008, 18:10

Thanks again. Calling cards are interesting, but we'll have WiFi in our Condo, so longer calls will be placed by VoIP or by Callback (both through poivy.com). Actually Tuyo's $ .12/min for German landlines and $. 36/min for mobiles is too cheap to struggle with calling cards and I doubt they would be significantly cheaper.


terminals: Samsung: Galaxy S5 DuoS (G900FD); BLU: Win HD LTE; Nokia: 1200; Asus: Fonepad 7 ME372CG; Huawei data: E3372, Vodafone R201, K3765, E1762;
postpaid: O2 on Business XL; prepaid: DE: Aldi Talk, Lidl; UK: 3; BG: MTel, vivacom; RU: MTS; RS: MTS; UAE: du Tourist SIM; INT'L: toggle mobile
VoIP: sipgate.de (German DID); sipgate.co.uk (British DID); ukddi.com (British DID); sipcall.ch (Swiss DID); megafon.bg (Bulgarian DID); InterVoip.com
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
PhotoJim (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Expert
 
Posts: 389
Join Date: 10 Dec 2006
Location: Regina, SK, CA

Country:
Default 23-10-2008, 18:47

I just use callback now myself. I have a Canadian DID through voip.ms that I call. It rings busy. It calls me back. It costs me 2.5 cents a minute net (US) to call North America. Europe is not much more.


CA: SaskTel, Wind postpaid; Rogers, Bell postpaid iPad flex plans; US: T-Mobile postpaid data, prepaid voice; PureTalk (AT&T MVNO) prepaid voice/data; AT&T prepaid iPad plan

Hardware: Too much but notably iPhone 5, iPad Mini Retina LTE, Moto G LTE (N.A. version), iPhone 4. All unlocked.
 Send a message via ICQ to PhotoJim Send a message via MSN to PhotoJim Send a message via Yahoo to PhotoJim Send a message via Skype™ to PhotoJim 
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
inquisitor (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Professionist
 
inquisitor's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,399
Join Date: 15 Nov 2006

Country:
Default 23-10-2008, 19:02

But with callback you pay something for the incoming call, don't you? So in the case of Tuyo a callback would cost $ .10 for the incoming call + $ .025 for the callback, so $ .125 in total, which would be more expensive than a direct call with Tuyo ($ .10).

Another question came up to my mind, as I'm going to Cali in March: Is there any disadvantage for me if I activated my Tuyo SIMs with an address in NYC, so I get a NYC local number but used it elsewhere? Afaik the big US cellcos offer nationwide tariffs so there's no such thing like national roaming if you leave your home state, right?


terminals: Samsung: Galaxy S5 DuoS (G900FD); BLU: Win HD LTE; Nokia: 1200; Asus: Fonepad 7 ME372CG; Huawei data: E3372, Vodafone R201, K3765, E1762;
postpaid: O2 on Business XL; prepaid: DE: Aldi Talk, Lidl; UK: 3; BG: MTel, vivacom; RU: MTS; RS: MTS; UAE: du Tourist SIM; INT'L: toggle mobile
VoIP: sipgate.de (German DID); sipgate.co.uk (British DID); ukddi.com (British DID); sipcall.ch (Swiss DID); megafon.bg (Bulgarian DID); InterVoip.com

Last edited by inquisitor; 23-10-2008 at 19:07..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Bossman (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Professionist
 
Posts: 1,257
Join Date: 22 Apr 2005
Location: Chicago

Country:
Default 23-10-2008, 19:58

No disadvantage to you whatsoever. Pretty much just about all cellphone plans include nationwide calling an usage. So you can call and use it from anywhere in the US and it will not cost you extra. Now, if you happen to have a NY number and have a friend in FL that does not have a nationwide plan on their mobile (highly unlikely) or home number, they will pay long distance to reach that number.

Quote:
Originally Posted by inquisitor View Post
Another question came up to my mind, as I'm going to Cali in March: Is there any disadvantage for me if I activated my Tuyo SIMs with an address in NYC, so I get a NYC local number but used it elsewhere? Afaik the big US cellcos offer nationwide tariffs so there's no such thing like national roaming if you leave your home state, right?


Phones: Xiaomi Mi Mix 2, Samsung Galaxy A50, ASUS zenfone 3,
Sim cards: AT&T (Contract), 3 UK, Piranha Mobile
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
PhotoJim (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Expert
 
Posts: 389
Join Date: 10 Dec 2006
Location: Regina, SK, CA

Country:
Default 23-10-2008, 21:40

Quote:
Originally Posted by inquisitor View Post
But with callback you pay something for the incoming call, don't you? So in the case of Tuyo a callback would cost $ .10 for the incoming call + $ .025 for the callback, so $ .125 in total, which would be more expensive than a direct call with Tuyo ($ .10).
Well, I would just dial directly to call the US. To call Canada it would be cheaper to use Tuyo than to do my trick, but only barely (12.5 cents versus 11.5).

Since I already have a $110 US balance on my T-Mobile SIM, callback works well for me. And T-Mobile works here where I live, so I can keep the SIM active easily.


CA: SaskTel, Wind postpaid; Rogers, Bell postpaid iPad flex plans; US: T-Mobile postpaid data, prepaid voice; PureTalk (AT&T MVNO) prepaid voice/data; AT&T prepaid iPad plan

Hardware: Too much but notably iPhone 5, iPad Mini Retina LTE, Moto G LTE (N.A. version), iPhone 4. All unlocked.
 Send a message via ICQ to PhotoJim Send a message via MSN to PhotoJim Send a message via Yahoo to PhotoJim Send a message via Skype™ to PhotoJim 
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
VladS (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Pioneer
 
Posts: 590
Join Date: 22 Jun 2004

Country:
Default 24-10-2008, 00:33

Can foreign credit cards be used to top-up a Tuyo SIM? I don't recall seeing Tuyo top-up in convenience store anywhere.


VladS
Mobile phones: iPhone 5, Blackberry 9900, Nexus S, Samsung S3322 duos
Mobile data cards: Huawei E587u-5, Huawei E583c, Huawei E160
Postpaid SIMs: CA: Fido, Wind; INTL: Telna
Prepaid SIMs: DE: Fonic, Lidl; AT: yesss!, bob; UK: O2; US: AT&T; RO: Orange, Vodafone; FR: b&you, Lycamobile; NL: Lycamobile; BE: Lycamobile, Jim Mobile; CL: Entel; MX: Telcel; INTL: eKit Blue, eKit Yellow
Dead SIMs: too many to list
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
inquisitor (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Professionist
 
inquisitor's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,399
Join Date: 15 Nov 2006

Country:
Default 24-10-2008, 02:59

Thanks Vlad. I remember recharging a Cingular GoPhone SIM with a German credit card back in 2005, so I hope a ethno-brand like Tuyo will accept foreign cards, too. Anyway Tuyo's FAQs mention recharge cards to be available (http://www.tuyo.com/site/faq.aspx?fid=4).


terminals: Samsung: Galaxy S5 DuoS (G900FD); BLU: Win HD LTE; Nokia: 1200; Asus: Fonepad 7 ME372CG; Huawei data: E3372, Vodafone R201, K3765, E1762;
postpaid: O2 on Business XL; prepaid: DE: Aldi Talk, Lidl; UK: 3; BG: MTel, vivacom; RU: MTS; RS: MTS; UAE: du Tourist SIM; INT'L: toggle mobile
VoIP: sipgate.de (German DID); sipgate.co.uk (British DID); ukddi.com (British DID); sipcall.ch (Swiss DID); megafon.bg (Bulgarian DID); InterVoip.com
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Dubrock (Offline)
Junior Member
Amateur Member
 
Posts: 27
Join Date: 13 Sep 2008

Country:
Default 24-10-2008, 08:24

Thanks for the tip I'm gonna buy Tuyo as well. Does anybody know if you need an American credit card to recharge. With T-Mobile it is, my dutch master cards did'n't work.


Active sims NL Telfort, KPN, Vodafone, TrendCall, T-Mobile DE Simyo CH M-Budget PE Claro INT Air Baltic Card, GeoSim

Non-active sims NL Qick, Easymobile, Tele2, Simyo, Rabomobiel, Vectone, UPC, GT Mobile, Orange, Hema, Lycamobile, Carey TZ Celtel Malawi Celtel Zambia Celtel SA MTN, Vodacom INT UM, UM+, Go Global Sim, Max Roam, 09 Sim
 Send a message via ICQ to Dubrock Send a message via AIM to Dubrock Send a message via MSN to Dubrock Send a message via Yahoo to Dubrock  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
bbob (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Expert
 
Posts: 499
Join Date: 20 Feb 2007

Country:
Default 24-10-2008, 09:09

mastercard is not that populat in the USa. Try Visa card. I had an at&t card last week in the US and loaded it with my dutch visa card. No problems to do so.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Bossman (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Professionist
 
Posts: 1,257
Join Date: 22 Apr 2005
Location: Chicago

Country:
Default 24-10-2008, 10:11

My brother topped up his Tuyo card with his UK issued American Express. That was about 2 years ago. He called their customer service (free from the phone) to do it. I also believe you can register online. Call and sms detail is also online.


Phones: Xiaomi Mi Mix 2, Samsung Galaxy A50, ASUS zenfone 3,
Sim cards: AT&T (Contract), 3 UK, Piranha Mobile
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
2002- ad libitum PrePaidGSM.net