PrePaidGSM.net Forum (Archived)

Old
  (#1)
ramlax13 (Offline)

Default Cannot find skypephone in Italy - 10-01-2010, 14:01

Hey there everyone,

So I am currently studying abroad in Rome, and having done my research before I got here, was anxious to get a skypephone while was here. I went to the closest official 3 store I could find and talked to the lady at the desk. I explained I wanted a phone with skype and she told me they had one but that I needed a 24 month contract to get it. I believe she was referring to the INQ phone that has skype on it, because the phone is free with contract.

Does anyone know where I can get the skypephone in Rome still? It seems as though it has also slipped off of the Tre.it website as well. If I cannot get it, are there any good alternatives for me?

Thank you.

Old
  (#2)
inquisitor (Offline)
Prepaid Professionist

Default 10-01-2010, 14:54

Those Skypephones from 3 are quite outdated and had a relatively short battery life. In your place I would buy a recent E- oder N-series Nokia phone (e.g. a Nokia E52), which supports VoIP, get a free VoIP account including free geographical US-number from sipgate.us and so you would be reachable free of charge on a regular US-number in Italy. People could call you using regular phones instead of computers or Skype-capable phones and they will of course pay only a domestic call, while you won't be charged for receiving those calls at all. Of course you can also place outgoing calls to the US at sipgate's rates, which are quite low.
Just make sure the Nokia, you chose supports SIP (the required VoIP-protocol) and both, HSDPA and HSUPA, as the lastmentioned will reduce latency and so there won't be a lag in your calls.

P.S.: You might need someone in the US to sign up for sipgate.us as they might restrict registration to American IP-addresses. However you'll be able to use the VoIP-account even from abroad afterwards.