PrePaidGSM.net Forum (Archived)

Old
  (#1)
Scalpel (Offline)

Question Prepaid GSM data in Montreal? - 08-02-2011, 07:43

I'm heading up to Montreal next month, and don't want to pay the $10/MB that T-Mobile wants for data roaming in Canada. Any options? In most countries you can just hit the mall to grab a 30 day SIM with some prepaid data on it, but I know from experience that Canada's cell phone system is completely bizarre compared to most.

Summary: how can I get some cheap data coverage for my GSM phone while in Montreal, Quebec?

Old
  (#2)
bylo (Offline)
Prepaid Expert

Default 08-02-2011, 22:25

Since no one else is responding...

I'm no expert but I don't think there's anyone in Canada that offers what you'd ideally want.

The two most obvious choices are SpeakOut by 7-11 and Petro-Canada Mobility. They both offer unlimited 2G data in Canada for $10/month, however neither sell individual SIMs. You have to buy a phone to get the SIM. Also there are no 7-Eleven stores in Quebec so you can't buy account top-ups there.

There are Petro-Canada gas stations in Quebec and you can also buy top-ups online. See: Petro-Canada Mobility Prepaid Cell Phone Plan

What to do? You might be able to find SIMs on eBay or even the Buy/Sell/Trade thread on The Unofficial 7-Eleven Speak Out Wireless Canada Consumer Page. Make sure the SIM is for PCM, not SO. They're not interchangeable.

Perhaps someone else knows if Rogers/Fido offers anything better.

Phones: OnePlus 5 • Nexus 5
SIMs: CA Fido/Fongo • AT A1-B.free • Google Fi
R.I.P.: UM • UM+

Old
  (#3)
GadgetKen (Offline)
Prepaid Expert

Default 09-02-2011, 21:34

Used to go to Toronto 2x a year on business with a Fido sim chip. Prepaid data rate add-ons are now:
Regular phone: $1 day/$3 week/$10 month. All you can eat on the theory a regular mobile phone won't inhale too much data.
Smartphone: $2 day for 20 mb/$7 week for 125 mb/$25 month for 500 mb.
Blackberry: $20 per month.