PrePaidGSM.net Forum
Travelsim
PrePaidGSM Home National Operators International Cards Contacts Links



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old
  (#1)
Daddycakes (Offline)
Junior Member
Amateur Member
 
Posts: 12
Join Date: 01 Jul 2005
Location: Chicago

Country:
Default 02-01-2006, 22:38

I know that this has been asked before and I feel like a moron for doing so, but I figure I'd get it out of the way up front.

I will be making two trips to Europe in February - the first around Andulcia and Gibraltar and the second one in Prague. I will be transiting through the UK, Belgium and Switzerland and like a data addict, you just HAVE to check your email when you just got off a flight.

So being lazy, I'd like to find one SIM card that I can use primarily for data with perhaps 3 calls during the entire time. I plan on mobile blogging and taking photos and uploading them, so something relatively cheap and reliable that works well would be what I am looking for.

Any idea on what the best SIM would be for my needs?

Thanks,
Nick
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
AndreA (Offline)
Administrator
Prepaid Genius
 
AndreA's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,661
Join Date: 13 Jan 2004
Location: Florence, Italy

Country:
Default 03-01-2006, 01:21

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daddycakes
Any idea on what the best SIM would be for my needs?
Wind: http://www.prepaidgsm.net/forum/index.php?showtopic=861 :whistle:


ANTPEAΣ AΠO THN ΦΛΩPENTIA
My Phones:
iPhone 2G, E65, N70, P910 DVB-H, A835, 6630, 7600, 6210, S55, T39
"Working" PrePaids: IT: Wind, H3G, Vodafone, Tim, CoopVoce, Poste Mobile, Telepass Mobile,
Uno Mobile - CH: OrangeClick - RSM: Prima Easy - UK: O2, H3G - INT: United Mobile, TravelSim, ICQ SIM
"Deceased" PrePaids: IT: Blu - AT: H3G - FR: Itineris - ES: Yoigo - GR: Cosmote, Frog - HR: Tele2 - UK: Virgin, Orange TO: UCall - NZ: Vodafone - IN: Hutch - CAN: Fido - USA: T-Mobile - INT: Travelfone, CallKey, Globalsim, HopMobile, GT, 09, Mobal, Yackiemobile

ITALIAN TLC BLOG

 Send a message via ICQ to AndreA Send a message via AIM to AndreA Send a message via MSN to AndreA Send a message via Skype™ to AndreA 
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Daddycakes (Offline)
Junior Member
Amateur Member
 
Posts: 12
Join Date: 01 Jul 2005
Location: Chicago

Country:
Default 03-01-2006, 03:32

I need a Wind one now. Thanks AndreA.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
johnwt1951 (Offline)
Junior Member
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Join Date: 13 Jan 2006
Location: Australia

Country:
Default 13-01-2006, 04:43

The WIND SIM sounds great! I would want to use the SIM in several places before I get to Italy.....so two questions:

1. Do you need to be in Italy to activate the SIM
2. Once you have the SIM, what do you have to do to set up the Mega No Limit Option?

Thanks for the great forum!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
Effendi (Offline)
The great Dictator!
Prepaid Prophet
 
Effendi's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,486
Join Date: 13 Jan 2004
Location: Trieste/Trst

Country:
Default 13-01-2006, 09:30

We activate the card for you here in Italy, so that's really not a problem. For the Mega No-Limit option you just need at least 20.01 euros of credit (with 0 credit you cannot use it), so you need to refill the card which is sold with 5? only. I'm not sure if it's possible to refill from Wind's site, but I think so, also with foreign credit cards, but AndreA is the expert of credit cards!

We'll keep you informed!


Working Prepaids: IT: Wind, Vodafone IT, UNO Mobile; SM: Prima; UK: 3, Virgin; INT: TravelSIM, Truphone.
Deceased Prepaids: CZ: Oskar, Eurotel; SK: Orange; DE: E-Plus, Aldi, Simyo; GE: Geocell; AM: Armentel; PL: Heyah, Plus; LT: Tele2; LV: Amigo; EE: Elisa; UA: Kyivstar; NZ: Vodafone; INT: UM, UM+, ICQSim.
GSM/3G Phones: Nokia Lumia 630 dual sim
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
AndreA (Offline)
Administrator
Prepaid Genius
 
AndreA's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,661
Join Date: 13 Jan 2004
Location: Florence, Italy

Country:
Default 13-01-2006, 10:29

Quote:
Originally Posted by Effendi
I'm not sure if it's possible to refill from Wind's site, but I think so, also with foreign credit cards, but AndreA is the expert of credit cards!
Yes, you can refill the sim card @ http://www.mondowind.it (the e-commerce website of Wind) and they surely accept every kind of American Express. Sometimes you can have troubles with not italian credit cards (Visa and MasterCard), but never with Am.Ex.

http://www.prepaidgsm.net/forum/index.php?showtopic=888


ANTPEAΣ AΠO THN ΦΛΩPENTIA
My Phones:
iPhone 2G, E65, N70, P910 DVB-H, A835, 6630, 7600, 6210, S55, T39
"Working" PrePaids: IT: Wind, H3G, Vodafone, Tim, CoopVoce, Poste Mobile, Telepass Mobile,
Uno Mobile - CH: OrangeClick - RSM: Prima Easy - UK: O2, H3G - INT: United Mobile, TravelSim, ICQ SIM
"Deceased" PrePaids: IT: Blu - AT: H3G - FR: Itineris - ES: Yoigo - GR: Cosmote, Frog - HR: Tele2 - UK: Virgin, Orange TO: UCall - NZ: Vodafone - IN: Hutch - CAN: Fido - USA: T-Mobile - INT: Travelfone, CallKey, Globalsim, HopMobile, GT, 09, Mobal, Yackiemobile

ITALIAN TLC BLOG

 Send a message via ICQ to AndreA Send a message via AIM to AndreA Send a message via MSN to AndreA Send a message via Skype™ to AndreA 
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
johnwt1951 (Offline)
Junior Member
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Join Date: 13 Jan 2006
Location: Australia

Country:
Default 13-01-2006, 10:52

So I take it that as long as you recharge to 20+ Euro then you are automatically accessing the Mega-No-Limit plan??

Thanks for the great community service you do! :bye2:
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
AndreA (Offline)
Administrator
Prepaid Genius
 
AndreA's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,661
Join Date: 13 Jan 2004
Location: Florence, Italy

Country:
Default 13-01-2006, 12:40

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnwt1951
So I take it that as long as you recharge to 20+ Euro then you are automatically accessing the Mega-No-Limit plan??
Well, if you have that option your balance can't go DOWN 0.00... if you don't have credit for any reason you can't surf on the web.

In fact Effendi wrote that you "need" 20.01 ? because, after the activation (-20.00?), you'll be sure to be ok :P


ANTPEAΣ AΠO THN ΦΛΩPENTIA
My Phones:
iPhone 2G, E65, N70, P910 DVB-H, A835, 6630, 7600, 6210, S55, T39
"Working" PrePaids: IT: Wind, H3G, Vodafone, Tim, CoopVoce, Poste Mobile, Telepass Mobile,
Uno Mobile - CH: OrangeClick - RSM: Prima Easy - UK: O2, H3G - INT: United Mobile, TravelSim, ICQ SIM
"Deceased" PrePaids: IT: Blu - AT: H3G - FR: Itineris - ES: Yoigo - GR: Cosmote, Frog - HR: Tele2 - UK: Virgin, Orange TO: UCall - NZ: Vodafone - IN: Hutch - CAN: Fido - USA: T-Mobile - INT: Travelfone, CallKey, Globalsim, HopMobile, GT, 09, Mobal, Yackiemobile

ITALIAN TLC BLOG

 Send a message via ICQ to AndreA Send a message via AIM to AndreA Send a message via MSN to AndreA Send a message via Skype™ to AndreA 
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
2002- ad libitum PrePaidGSM.net