PrePaidGSM.net Forum
Mobal
PrePaidGSM Home National Operators International Cards Contacts Links



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#121)
rfranzq (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Specialist
 
rfranzq's Avatar
 
Posts: 757
Join Date: 21 Apr 2009

Country:
Default 08-08-2015, 18:29

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bossman View Post
Just now noticed that incoming calls are free for US/UK sim holders using it in US/UK. It's probably been so for a while, but I am just now noticing it.
I really don't know when this changed.
It has been a few years though.
Free incoming SMS also.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#122)
kctopitz (Offline)
Member
Advanced Member
 
kctopitz's Avatar
 
Posts: 64
Join Date: 05 Jan 2008

Country:
Default Truphone now works on AT&T 3G (formerly only 2G) - 12-08-2015, 17:26

I don't think this has been reported in this thread so far, but it seems Truphone now works on AT&T's 3G network in the US. Formerly we were only able to connect to AT&T's 2G network, which was fine for better coverage, but meant slow EDGE data, of course. HSPA data with AT&T's better coverage is a nice change.

For reference, AT&T uses 3G bands 850 and 1900.


[ earth | technology | life ] : [ www.gaiageek.com ]
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#123)
wolfbln (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Fan
 
Posts: 183
Join Date: 14 Jul 2014

Country:
Default 12-08-2015, 22:24

Quote:
Originally Posted by kctopitz View Post
I don't think this has been reported in this thread so far, ....
No, a new thread was opened for this occation
http://www.prepaidgsm.net/forum/showthread.php?t=9580
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#124)
dg7feq (Offline)
Moderator
Prepaid Guru
 
Posts: 1,159
Join Date: 04 Feb 2006
Location: Germany

Country:
Default 13-08-2015, 08:28

Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfbln View Post
No, a new thread was opened for this occation
http://www.prepaidgsm.net/forum/showthread.php?t=9580
i merged the threads to one...

Chris


Germany: smartmobil, simquadrat, Vodafone (data)
Thailand: truemove (phone+sms+wifi), TOT 3G (data)
International: xxSim+372, toggle +44/+49/+41/+31
Phones: Huawei Mate7, Zopo ZP700
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#125)
Stu (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Guru
 
Posts: 1,087
Join Date: 11 Feb 2004
Location: Detroit (formerly Dubai)

Country:
Default 19-08-2015, 11:59

Quote:
Originally Posted by kctopitz View Post
Has anyone else had problems running the Google Voice app on Android while using Truphone? It works fine while I'm connected via Wi-Fi, but when I try connecting via mobile data I get a login error. I suspect that Truphone has blocked the app from connecting -- and if that's the case, it should be made known.
I had a problem when I tried it on an experimental basis. When I turned on Onavo on my phone it worked great.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#126)
kctopitz (Offline)
Member
Advanced Member
 
kctopitz's Avatar
 
Posts: 64
Join Date: 05 Jan 2008

Country:
Default Truphone stops using T-Mobile in the U.S. - 26-06-2016, 10:15

From https://support.truphone.com/s/article/Coverage-Checker

Quote:
Previously Truphone customers were able to make use of the T-Mobile Network in the US. As of 27th June 2016, Truphone's US provider will be solely AT&T. Customers have been contacted in regards to this change.
I'm a customer but haven't been contacted about this.

This sucks as I chose Truphone because of the combined AT&T and T-Mobile coverage. One of my regular locations is in an AT&T dead zone, but I get 3 bars on T-Mobile. Elsewhere in the city I get no T-Mobile coverage and only AT&T.

Maybe it's time to switch to Piranha.


[ earth | technology | life ] : [ www.gaiageek.com ]
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#127)
rfranzq (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Specialist
 
rfranzq's Avatar
 
Posts: 757
Join Date: 21 Apr 2009

Country:
Default 27-06-2016, 06:51

Quote:
Originally Posted by kctopitz View Post
I'm a customer but haven't been contacted about this.
Thank you for seeing this.
I have not noticed notification of this either.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#128)
rfranzq (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Specialist
 
rfranzq's Avatar
 
Posts: 757
Join Date: 21 Apr 2009

Country:
Default T-Mobile does not work anymore on Truphone SIMs. - 01-07-2016, 05:51

T-Mobile does not work anymore on Truphone SIMs.
Just saw it today.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#129)
GadgetKen (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Expert
 
Posts: 321
Join Date: 14 Dec 2004
Location: Connecticut, USA

Country:
Default 03-07-2016, 01:50

Quote:
Originally Posted by kctopitz View Post
From https://support.truphone.com/s/article/Coverage-Checker



I'm a customer but haven't been contacted about this.

This sucks as I chose Truphone because of the combined AT&T and T-Mobile coverage. One of my regular locations is in an AT&T dead zone, but I get 3 bars on T-Mobile. Elsewhere in the city I get no T-Mobile coverage and only AT&T.

Maybe it's time to switch to Piranha.
I've got Piranha. Works well for voice but in the US I think T-Mo is the default rather than AT&T. The sim profile needs to be changed (online drop down box or possibly also through a USSD code) if you want to use certain carriers like AT&T. May be easier just to get an AT&T mvno prepaid like H2O Wireless (a US nickel in or out on pay as you go) or a T-Mo mvno with similar rates, and use it in a dual sim phone.

In my case, I got a Piranha rather than Truphone because I needed inexpensive roaming in Bermuda...Truphone too expensive in that particular location. But Truphone has good rates elsewhere.


Phones/Wireless Devices: Blackview BV8000 Pro, Isatphone Pro, Amazon Kindle 3G, SkyRoam MiFi device, Karma MiFi device, AT&T Liberate MiFi device
Sim Cards: AT&T (AT&T, H2O and Kindle), Piranha
Satphone: InMarSat
Broadband US Wireless Data: AT&T, Sprint (AT&T postpaid or Karma Mobility prepaid)
Broadband International Data: SkyRoam
VOIP: Skype
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
2002- ad libitum PrePaidGSM.net