PrePaidGSM.net Forum
Telestial
PrePaidGSM Home National Operators International Cards Contacts Links


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#1)
wco81 (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Expert
 
Posts: 303
Join Date: 17 Jun 2007

Country:
Default Tim "4g" - 07-10-2015, 04:14

Is it LTE or Some HSPA variant?

I get speeds of 35-40 Mbps, sometimes higher, sometimes lower.

My iPad always shows "4G" but wondering if other devices ever displays "LTE" on TIM.

They also advertise 4G Plus now.

My iPhone roaming on US T-Mobile has displayed Vodaphone LTE in many of the same places in Sicily where my iPad shows 4G on TIM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
dg7feq (Offline)
Moderator
Prepaid Guru
 
Posts: 1,158
Join Date: 04 Feb 2006
Location: Germany

Country:
Default 07-10-2015, 16:34

in europe usually you get LTE if LTE is shown, so 4G...


Germany: smartmobil, simquadrat, Vodafone (data)
Thailand: truemove (phone+sms+wifi), TOT 3G (data)
International: xxSim+372, toggle +44/+49/+41/+31
Phones: Huawei Mate7, Zopo ZP700
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
wco81 (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Expert
 
Posts: 303
Join Date: 17 Jun 2007

Country:
Default 07-10-2015, 18:07

Well I don't think I've ever seen "LTE" displayed on TIM, including in the center of Rome.

My iPad is suppose to include the LTE bands used by TIM.

Flew from Italy to Frankfurt. Soon as I touched down I turned on the cell radio and it got a Telekom.de 4G signal. During the long taxi, I got only 2 or 3 bars and speed test showed only 8/2. Closer to the terminal, got 5 bars. Downloaded a bunch of emails and did another speed test and it was hitting 35-40 Mbps down before it suddenly cut off. Got a couple of SMS in Italian, indicating I had used up the 50 MB daily roaming in the EU and US.

It said I would be charged €1 per MB.

Oh well.

I'll check tomorrow to see if I get another 50 MB. Then when I return to the US, will check again.

I'll be glad when the roaming is gone, as it could make visiting more than one EU country during a trip easier to deal with.

Anyways, "4G" is providing speeds comparable to what I get with LTE back in US.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
dg7feq (Offline)
Moderator
Prepaid Guru
 
Posts: 1,158
Join Date: 04 Feb 2006
Location: Germany

Country:
Default 08-10-2015, 10:35

4g = lte...
3g = wcdma, hspa, hspa+
2g = gprs, edge


Germany: smartmobil, simquadrat, Vodafone (data)
Thailand: truemove (phone+sms+wifi), TOT 3G (data)
International: xxSim+372, toggle +44/+49/+41/+31
Phones: Huawei Mate7, Zopo ZP700
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
Effendi (Offline)
The great Dictator!
Prepaid Prophet
 
Effendi's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,486
Join Date: 13 Jan 2004
Location: Trieste/Trst

Country:
Default 13-10-2015, 11:28

I confirm LTE and 4G are the same thing, at least here in Europe. And yes, TIM's 4G network is LTE for sure.


Working Prepaids: IT: Wind, Vodafone IT, UNO Mobile; SM: Prima; UK: 3, Virgin; INT: TravelSIM, Truphone.
Deceased Prepaids: CZ: Oskar, Eurotel; SK: Orange; DE: E-Plus, Aldi, Simyo; GE: Geocell; AM: Armentel; PL: Heyah, Plus; LT: Tele2; LV: Amigo; EE: Elisa; UA: Kyivstar; NZ: Vodafone; INT: UM, UM+, ICQSim.
GSM/3G Phones: Nokia Lumia 630 dual sim
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
2002- ad libitum PrePaidGSM.net