PrePaidGSM.net Forum
telna Mobile
PrePaidGSM Home National Operators International Cards Contacts Links


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#1)
lizzie1955 (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Fan
 
Posts: 100
Join Date: 20 Aug 2007

Country:
Default Making a Call in the US using my UK Sim - 11-11-2013, 15:39

I just put my 3UK Sim that I used last summer back into my phone. It is still active-- picked up T-Mobile. I gather that in order to keep it alive I need to make one call. I tried to do that but clearly didn't know the right combination of numbers to dial using my UK Sim in the US to dial a US number. I assumed it would be 001 + area code + plus 555-1111. Am I wrong?

Help!!!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
rfranzq (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Specialist
 
rfranzq's Avatar
 
Posts: 759
Join Date: 21 Apr 2009

Country:
Default 11-11-2013, 18:44

Quote:
Originally Posted by lizzie1955 View Post
.....to dial a US number. I assumed it would be 001 + area code + plus 555-1111. Am I wrong?
Frankly, off the top of my head I don't know what the US [different from most of the world] outbound international code is. BUT '+' should always work anywhere in the world. Thus: +1xxxyyyqqqq should work for you.

Well, here is the info:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of..._call_prefixes

001 definitely not right. US is 011. 0011xxxyyyqqqq would be the way to do it. '+' is easier and if you use it when you create your phones address book the number would work anywhere in the world. 011 would be what you use with a land line.

Last edited by rfranzq; 11-11-2013 at 18:54..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
inquisitor (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Professionist
 
inquisitor's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,399
Join Date: 15 Nov 2006

Country:
Default 11-11-2013, 23:44

Hi Lizzie,

The international call prefix in Europe is 00 while in the US it's 011 but the question is which dialing plan applies to your SIM card because today many operators have included a feature called "call completion" or "call correction" which allows subscribers using their domestic dialing plan abroad (e.g. offered by Starhome: http://www.starhome.com/call-completion.html). So even if you were supposed to dial 01144 from the US to the UK, the network could still connect you if you dialed 0044. Some networks are even configured to add the country code if you have forgotten it and if the dialed number doesn't exist in the visited country.
In any case, as rfranzq wrote, the best practice is to store all your numbers in the international format where + replaces the regional international prefix and you will never need to care about dialing plans again, regardless where you go to.

Here are some examples how numbers need to be entered correctly:
example for US number: 555 1234567 becomes +1 555 1234567
example for UK number: 02 12345678 becomes +44 2 12345678
example for German number: 030 12345678 becomes +49 30 12345678


terminals: Samsung: Galaxy S5 DuoS (G900FD); BLU: Win HD LTE; Nokia: 1200; Asus: Fonepad 7 ME372CG; Huawei data: E3372, Vodafone R201, K3765, E1762;
postpaid: O2 on Business XL; prepaid: DE: Aldi Talk, Lidl; UK: 3; BG: MTel, vivacom; RU: MTS; RS: MTS; UAE: du Tourist SIM; INT'L: toggle mobile
VoIP: sipgate.de (German DID); sipgate.co.uk (British DID); ukddi.com (British DID); sipcall.ch (Swiss DID); megafon.bg (Bulgarian DID); InterVoip.com
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
lizzie1955 (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Fan
 
Posts: 100
Join Date: 20 Aug 2007

Country:
Default 12-11-2013, 02:49

Thanks, as always. I gather from the folks at Three that a Skype call would also keep the Sim alive. That was no problem.

I think I just make the 6 month deadline anyway. I left the UK on July 22 and will be returning on January 16....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
rfranzq (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Specialist
 
rfranzq's Avatar
 
Posts: 759
Join Date: 21 Apr 2009

Country:
Default 12-11-2013, 05:46

Quote:
Originally Posted by lizzie1955 View Post
I think I just make the 6 month deadline anyway. I left the UK on July 22 and will be returning on January 16....
It never hurts to test a week or so before you go to make sure it is still really working.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
NFH (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Expert
 
NFH's Avatar
 
Posts: 321
Join Date: 11 Apr 2012
Location: London

Country:
Default 12-11-2013, 08:33

With UK SIM cards, usually any balance deduction is sufficient. While outside the UK, the cheapest balance deduction is probably an outgoing text or a brief incoming call (provided that incoming roaming calls are billed per second). I have a spare Three UK SIM card with zero credit on it, and in practice I keep it active with an incoming call (obviously free within the UK) every six months, for which Three receives a small amount of termination fees; however, this last method is not their official policy.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
2002- ad libitum PrePaidGSM.net