PrePaidGSM.net Forum
Mobal
PrePaidGSM Home National Operators International Cards Contacts Links



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#11)
Roti2000 (Offline)
Junior Member
Amateur Member
 
Posts: 18
Join Date: 08 Jun 2010

Country:
Default 01-12-2010, 15:03

Interesting, Bossman & akraus -- So the places where I CAN get AT&T coverage with this ostensibly Quad Band phone means that it is picking up the signal on GSM-1900?

It will be interesting to see what happens in Mexico--if wikipedia is to believed, Telcel uses 850 for 3g and hasn't rolled it out yet in the area where I'm headed.

So, theoretically, I guess, it should connect via GSM-1900.

Does anyone have any leads on reliable dual-sim quad-bands? I may try and do an exchange/return with focalprice.com if i have bad luck in Mexico.

I travel down there a lot, and many of the places I normally go around Mexico City are in Telcel 3g territory.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
GadgetKen (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Expert
 
Posts: 337
Join Date: 14 Dec 2004
Location: Connecticut, USA

Country:
Default Suggestions for dual sim phones - 02-12-2010, 03:09

Have had good luck with a dual sim quad band MFU V200 phone. Simple features, works well, very sturdy. Very basic though with a camera/video camera, MP3/MP4 player, FM stereo...no wifi, no alphanumeric keyboard, no TV, no touchscreen. But it does the job.

For a phone purchased from the US, lowest risk would probably be a Beyond E-Tech Duet dual sim phone. Only maker I'm aware of that has dual sim phones that are US FCC registered. You could also try before you buy at a store. Can be bought from several dealers including: Search Results for duet phone at JR.com They also have one of the lowest SAR ratings of any phone officially sold in the US: Other manufacturers cell phone radiation chart - CNET Reviews


Phones/Wireless Devices: Blackview BV8000 Pro, Isatphone Pro, Amazon Kindle 3G, SkyRoam MiFi device, Karma MiFi device, AT&T Liberate MiFi device
Sim Cards: T-Mobile (Mint), AT&T (AT&T, H2O and Kindle), Koko
Satphone: InMarSat
Broadband US Wireless Data: AT&T, Sprint (AT&T postpaid or Karma Mobility prepaid)
Broadband International Data: SkyRoam
VOIP: Skype, TextNow
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
akraus88 (Offline)
Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 51
Join Date: 26 Oct 2006

Country:
Default 02-12-2010, 07:38

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roti2000 View Post
Interesting, Bossman & akraus -- So the places where I CAN get AT&T coverage with this ostensibly Quad Band phone means that it is picking up the signal on GSM-1900?

It will be interesting to see what happens in Mexico--if wikipedia is to believed, Telcel uses 850 for 3g and hasn't rolled it out yet in the area where I'm headed.

So, theoretically, I guess, it should connect via GSM-1900.

Does anyone have any leads on reliable dual-sim quad-bands? I may try and do an exchange/return with focalprice.com if i have bad luck in Mexico.

I travel down there a lot, and many of the places I normally go around Mexico City are in Telcel 3g territory.
In Mexico the 1900 band will work great. 3g is a newer techbology, so wherever the have 850-3g, they have 1900-2g.

Side note: you cannot call with the att SIM in Mexico to any place other than US/Canada/Mexico.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
Bossman (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Guru
 
Posts: 1,249
Join Date: 22 Apr 2005
Location: Chicago

Country:
Default 02-12-2010, 14:41

Yeah. Let us know how it works out for you in Mexico.

I actually also activated a couple of AT&T prepaid sims (one goPhone I bought for $1.25 on ebay and one regular AT&T sim I had laying around) for use when we go to Puerto Vallarta, Mexico, in a couple of weeks. Mainly for the $0.25 rate for incoming and outgoing calls. The goPhone sim will ONLY work in the phone I activated it on. I certainly do not anticipate any problems in Mexico since I will be using regular quadband/3G smartphones.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roti2000 View Post
Thanks, everyone for all of the help.

The only reason for getting the AT&T SIM is for a trip to Mexico I'm taking in the next couple of days. It will be interesting to see how the setup functions while roaming in Mexico via the Telcel towers.

Thanks everyone for the great advice!

I will post a followup about what happens with it in Mexico.


Phones: ASUS zenfone 3, Nexus 4, Lumia 650 dual sim
Sim cards: AT&T (Contract), 3 UK, Piranha Mobile
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
2002- ad libitum PrePaidGSM.net