PrePaidGSM.net Forum
Mobal
PrePaidGSM Home National Operators International Cards Contacts Links



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#1)
dacritts (Offline)
Junior Member
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Join Date: 23 Aug 2009

Country:
Default Mobile broadband in Croatia - and Skype - 23-08-2009, 16:39

Hi,

I'll be in Croatia next month and want to stay connected through mobile broadband. I will also need to use Skype on the connection.

Do T-Mobile, Vipnet OR Tele2 pay as you go offers allow you to use Skype?

Thanks.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
dilijasi (Offline)
Junior Member
Amateur Member
 
dilijasi's Avatar
 
Posts: 15
Join Date: 25 May 2009

Country:
Default 10-03-2010, 21:49

hi dacritts
sorry, I saw your posting just now. You have probably gone there and got an answer to your question. I live in Croatia, have mobile broadband prepaid pack from VIP Voda but never actually tried Skype's voice service. I think operators are not blocking VOIP for PAYG customers on 3G/HSDPA...could you confirm it?


Postpaid: T-Mobile Croatia
PAYG: VIPnet Croatia, Vodafone Italy, 3 Italy, Vodafone UK, o2 Germany, Telenor Serbia, AT&T US
Data SIM: VIPnet Croatia, 3 Italy
Hardware: BlackBerry Curve 8900, HTC Magic, HTC Desire Z, Huawei E160X, Option 225
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
dacritts (Offline)
Junior Member
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Join Date: 23 Aug 2009

Country:
Default 12-03-2010, 18:04

Hi dilijasi,

I was in Croatia twice last year after my original posting. On both occasions I used Skype successfully with VIP: no blocking. I had previously checked with the other 2 operators and they both said that they do not block Skype.

The only problem I encountered was if the the signal was a bit weak, then Skype wouldn't work. But that's the same everywhere.

Hope that helps,

dacritts.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
dilijasi (Offline)
Junior Member
Amateur Member
 
dilijasi's Avatar
 
Posts: 15
Join Date: 25 May 2009

Country:
Default 13-03-2010, 13:09

alright, thanks


Postpaid: T-Mobile Croatia
PAYG: VIPnet Croatia, Vodafone Italy, 3 Italy, Vodafone UK, o2 Germany, Telenor Serbia, AT&T US
Data SIM: VIPnet Croatia, 3 Italy
Hardware: BlackBerry Curve 8900, HTC Magic, HTC Desire Z, Huawei E160X, Option 225
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
petkow (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Pioneer
 
Posts: 696
Join Date: 01 Aug 2006
Location: Madrid

Country:
Default 07-07-2010, 12:29

I just spotted that vip now have a half price offer available for monthly internet access. 1GB of data costs just 7 Euros!
Vip - Sve zbog vas

Is this tariff available for all prepaid customers? I will be in Croatia next month, and am looking at buying a vip SIM. Is anyone who was there recently selling one, or has anyone got any experiences on how easy it is to pick one up after arrival?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
inquisitor (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Professionist
 
inquisitor's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,399
Join Date: 15 Nov 2006

Country:
Default 07-07-2010, 14:38

Quote:
Originally Posted by petkow View Post
Is this tariff available for all prepaid customers?
According to VIP's FAQ page you can't activate data tariffs for voice SIMs:

Quote:
Mogu li Vip mobilni internet tarife koristiti i na govornoj pretplatničkoj liniji?
Can I use mobile internet tariffs on a prepaid voice line?

Ne, Vip mobilni internet tarife ne možete aktivirati na svojoj govornoj pretplatničkoj liniji.
No, Vip mobile internet tariffs can not be activated on your prepaid voice line.
So you seem to need a special data SIM.


terminals: Samsung: Galaxy S5 DuoS (G900FD); BLU: Win HD LTE; Nokia: 1200; Asus: Fonepad 7 ME372CG; Huawei data: E3372, Vodafone R201, K3765, E1762;
postpaid: O2 on Business XL; prepaid: DE: Aldi Talk, Lidl; UK: 3; BG: MTel, vivacom; RU: MTS; RS: MTS; UAE: du Tourist SIM; INT'L: toggle mobile
VoIP: sipgate.de (German DID); sipgate.co.uk (British DID); ukddi.com (British DID); sipcall.ch (Swiss DID); megafon.bg (Bulgarian DID); InterVoip.com
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
petkow (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Pioneer
 
Posts: 696
Join Date: 01 Aug 2006
Location: Madrid

Country:
Default 07-07-2010, 15:04

Thanks Inquisitor. In which case I will probably just buy a normal voice SIM and stick to that. I presume it still has data, but at a higher rate. I think there is WiFI in most of the locations where we are staying anyhow. Otherwise heavy internet usage will have to rest while I am there!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
vegemite (Offline)
Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 48
Join Date: 10 May 2010
Location: Australia

Country:
Question 11-08-2010, 23:00

Anyone know how to check usage? I have a broadband prepaid SIM seems to be working ok in my phone with 1GB pack, but no phone capability of course. Does anyone know how check usage?


HTC Desire (unlocked UK version) / Nokia E71 (Wife's phone) / 3 Australia Post Paid SIM (both)

Looking for data / voice SIMS for Europe in August 2010 - UK, France, Italy, Austria, Croatia and Bosnia
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
hkr (Offline)
Member
Advanced Member
 
hkr's Avatar
 
Posts: 75
Join Date: 29 Apr 2009

Country:
Default 11-08-2010, 23:26

I suggest you check out another forum on this board where we discussed Croatia mobile internet quite a while ago. Things seem to be still very similar there. I was using a normal VIP voice SIM there which data options. 3G worked from our hotel quite well, and I was using VoIP (SIP-based) with good results.


Mobile Internet in Croatia? [Archive] - PrePaidGSM.net Forum



Postpaid:
3x Vodafone (HU) 1x T-Mobile) formerly also Pannon
Prepaid:
Vodafone, Pannon, T-Mobile (HU) Optimus (PT) SamiSwoi, ERA, Orange (PL) VIP (HR) T-Mobile (AT) Vodafone, O2, Orange, T-Mobile (UK) Vodafone (DE) Data-only prepaid: Vodafone, T-Mobile, Djuice/Pannon (HU)
International SIMs: UM+, Sim4Travel, TravelSim
Phones: Nokia E51, E71, Samsung D880, SE P990i, Ericsson T39m -forever! , many others in the drawer. 3G modems Huawei E220, E870, EU870D, U740, Alcatel X200
VoIP: Justvoip, CallWithUs, Neophonex, fonline, Macrogate and several others for outgoing... DIDs from Macrogate, DIDww, Gradwell, Voxbone and others. FreePBX, Vigor router with inbuilt ATA, Nokia E-series phones.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
© 2002- ad libitum PrePaidGSM.net