PrePaidGSM.net Forum
Mobal
PrePaidGSM Home National Operators International Cards Contacts Links



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#1)
sgmidf (Offline)
Junior Member
Amateur Member
 
Posts: 19
Join Date: 28 Nov 2004
Location: Tennessee

Country:
Default Using AT&T iPhone in Europe - 26-08-2009, 19:23

I'm going to Europe (Portugal and northern France) and am borrowing my friend's AT&T iPhone 2G that I've jailbroken and unlocked. I've got an overseas Vodaphone SIM (from Amex) to use but I only want to use wifi for data to avoid data charges on the Vodaphone account. If I set data roaming to "Off" will that do the trick? I'm concerned as I may not actually be roaming on this sim.

Thanks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
adam917 (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Fan
 
Posts: 187
Join Date: 14 Sep 2008
Location: North America

Country:
Default 26-08-2009, 19:39

Quote:
Originally Posted by sgmidf View Post
I'm going to Europe (Portugal and northern France) and am borrowing my friend's AT&T iPhone 2G that I've jailbroken and unlocked. I've got an overseas Vodaphone SIM (from Amex) to use but I only want to use wifi for data to avoid data charges on the Vodaphone account. If I set data roaming to "Off" will that do the trick? I'm concerned as I may not actually be roaming on this sim.

Thanks
Data Roaming setting only affects roaming. If you are in that Vodafone SIM's home country, you will get data. I think the only sure way is to take the SIM outwhen you're ready to use WiFi. Or maybe you can get Vodafone to disable all data on the SIM from their side.
 Send a message via ICQ to adam917 Send a message via AIM to adam917 Send a message via MSN to adam917 Send a message via Yahoo to adam917 Send a message via Skype™ to adam917 
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
inquisitor (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Professionist
 
inquisitor's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,399
Join Date: 15 Nov 2006

Country:
Default 26-08-2009, 20:40

As long as the home network is not configured to accept any access point (APN) configured (as it's the case for O2 Germany), you can avoid data connections by setting a non-existant access point.


terminals: Samsung: Galaxy S5 DuoS (G900FD); BLU: Win HD LTE; Nokia: 1200; Asus: Fonepad 7 ME372CG; Huawei data: E3372, Vodafone R201, K3765, E1762;
postpaid: O2 on Business XL; prepaid: DE: Aldi Talk, Lidl; UK: 3; BG: MTel, vivacom; RU: MTS; RS: MTS; UAE: du Tourist SIM; INT'L: toggle mobile
VoIP: sipgate.de (German DID); sipgate.co.uk (British DID); ukddi.com (British DID); sipcall.ch (Swiss DID); megafon.bg (Bulgarian DID); InterVoip.com
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
FBlack_111 (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Fan
 
Posts: 171
Join Date: 27 Feb 2008

Country:
Default 26-08-2009, 20:57

Try airplane mode too to disable all the data services. Not sure if airplane mode on an iphone disables wifi too.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
PhotoJim (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Expert
 
Posts: 389
Join Date: 10 Dec 2006
Location: Regina, SK, CA

Country:
Default 27-08-2009, 03:15

Quote:
Originally Posted by FBlack_111 View Post
Try airplane mode too to disable all the data services. Not sure if airplane mode on an iphone disables wifi too.
It does disable WiFi.


CA: SaskTel, Wind postpaid; Rogers, Bell postpaid iPad flex plans; US: T-Mobile postpaid data, prepaid voice; PureTalk (AT&T MVNO) prepaid voice/data; AT&T prepaid iPad plan

Hardware: Too much but notably iPhone 5, iPad Mini Retina LTE, Moto G LTE (N.A. version), iPhone 4. All unlocked.
 Send a message via ICQ to PhotoJim Send a message via MSN to PhotoJim Send a message via Yahoo to PhotoJim Send a message via Skype™ to PhotoJim 
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
2002- ad libitum PrePaidGSM.net