PrePaidGSM.net Forum
Mobal
PrePaidGSM Home National Operators International Cards Contacts Links



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old
  (#1)
therreid (Offline)
Junior Member
Newbie
 
therreid's Avatar
 
Posts: 6
Join Date: 27 Jun 2008
Location: Wyoming, USA

Country:
Default Mexico and the Riviera Maya - 26-11-2008, 11:55

We are heading to the Riviera Maya over Christmas. While having traveled a good bit in Latin America, I have seemed to ignore Mexico. What are my options for SIMs that will work well on the Riviera Maya? Can you get SIM cards at the Cancun Airport?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
VladS (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Pioneer
 
Posts: 590
Join Date: 22 Jun 2004

Country:
Default 26-11-2008, 13:21

Quote:
Originally Posted by therreid View Post
We are heading to the Riviera Maya over Christmas. While having traveled a good bit in Latin America, I have seemed to ignore Mexico. What are my options for SIMs that will work well on the Riviera Maya? Can you get SIM cards at the Cancun Airport?
I'm not aware of any shops at the CUN airport selling any kind of SIM cards.

You also have to be aware that Cancun based SIM cards are not local to Riviera Maya.
There are however a few shops in Akumal selling both SIM and top-up cards.

You may also want to note that in most cases Telcel provides better coverage in the Riviera.


VladS
Mobile phones: iPhone 5, Blackberry 9900, Nexus S, Samsung S3322 duos
Mobile data cards: Huawei E587u-5, Huawei E583c, Huawei E160
Postpaid SIMs: CA: Fido, Wind; INTL: Telna
Prepaid SIMs: DE: Fonic, Lidl; AT: yesss!, bob; UK: O2; US: AT&T; RO: Orange, Vodafone; FR: b&you, Lycamobile; NL: Lycamobile; BE: Lycamobile, Jim Mobile; CL: Entel; MX: Telcel; INTL: eKit Blue, eKit Yellow
Dead SIMs: too many to list
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
DRNewcomb (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Professionist
 
Posts: 1,465
Join Date: 27 Feb 2004
Location: Mississippi, USA

Country:
Default 27-11-2008, 21:06

I was able to use my 09 SIM in Mexico with free incoming calls.
 Send a message via ICQ to DRNewcomb  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
therreid (Offline)
Junior Member
Newbie
 
therreid's Avatar
 
Posts: 6
Join Date: 27 Jun 2008
Location: Wyoming, USA

Country:
Default 29-11-2008, 15:34

Quote:
Originally Posted by VladS View Post
I'm not aware of any shops at the CUN airport selling any kind of SIM cards.

You also have to be aware that Cancun based SIM cards are not local to Riviera Maya.
There are however a few shops in Akumal selling both SIM and top-up cards.

You may also want to note that in most cases Telcel provides better coverage in the Riviera.
Thanks! I will find a SIM in Akumal.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
ggking7 (Offline)
Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 63
Join Date: 03 Feb 2008

Country:
Default 05-12-2008, 01:24

I've had good luck with Telcel in Mexico and my Telcel card worked just fine in Tulum.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Global Termination (Offline)
Junior Member
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Join Date: 17 Dec 2008

Country:
Default Mexico free incoming must be a mistake - 17-12-2008, 07:41

Most likely a mistake in their rate sheets. Mexico is having a MTC charge. So it is impossible to give free roaming even not with the Lichtenstein dail in numbers.

GT


Quote:
Originally Posted by DRNewcomb View Post
I was able to use my 09 SIM in Mexico with free incoming calls.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
DRNewcomb (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Professionist
 
Posts: 1,465
Join Date: 27 Feb 2004
Location: Mississippi, USA

Country:
Default 27-12-2008, 18:11

Quote:
Originally Posted by Global Termination View Post
Most likely a mistake in their rate sheets. Mexico is having a MTC charge. So it is impossible to give free roaming even not with the Lichtenstein dail in numbers.
Perhaps but as long as too many people don't take advantage of it 09 may never notice. They don't seem to pay too much attention to their business. Probably having too much fun in those Icelandic thermal springs.
 Send a message via ICQ to DRNewcomb  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
09sim, mexico

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
2002- ad libitum PrePaidGSM.net