PrePaidGSM.net Forum
Mobal
PrePaidGSM Home National Operators International Cards Contacts Links



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#141)
DRNewcomb (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Professionist
 
Posts: 1,461
Join Date: 27 Feb 2004
Location: Mississippi, USA

Country:
Default 12-11-2007, 13:32

Quote:
Originally Posted by snidely View Post
ATT does the same Do other operators in the world do this as well?
It depends on if the carrier uses Default Conditional Forwarding or not. I call DCF, "The customer is an idiot mode." It's done because 90% of calls to customer care are "I'm not getting my voicemails." and the carrier gets tired of fielding these calls from stupid customers. So, they just program the HLR to reset the conditional forwarding back to the voicemail numer if it ever gets turned off.

Most European carriers do not use DCF. I think Orange UK does.
 Send a message via ICQ to DRNewcomb  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#142)
MATHA531 (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Specialist
 
Posts: 869
Join Date: 15 Oct 2004

Country:
Default 12-11-2007, 13:53

Here is the reply I received from Maxroam regarding the charges for calls not completed.

The reason you are charged for incomplete calls is because our system operates on a ‘call back’ method, you are charged to receive this call, it is similar to a connection fee. We are working on removing call back, and thus the connection fee, and should have this removed by the end of Q1 2008.


While operators such as United Mobile do not charge this fee (we are only charging it due to the system we use, which we are trying to eliminate), they do not offer the advantage of local numbers in 46+ countries, which means that those calling your from the US can call your US number at local rates, and do not need to dial a Jersey number, as provided by United Mobile, which is sometimes charged not only as an international number, but also as a premium number.

Of course, it is inexcusable on their part not to prominently tell people they will be charged even if the call is not completed...I don't think this is a usual thing and I can't, in all due respect to them, understand why it should be different just because you have a local number than it is for UM. (and of course the question is are you charged on both ends namely the call to their switching center in Ireland and then to receive the callback?)...it is a gigantic deficiency on their part and very nearly a deal buster, nobody should be charged when a call is not completed.

Last edited by MATHA531; 12-11-2007 at 15:05..
  Send a message via AIM to MATHA531  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#143)
Bossman (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Guru
 
Posts: 1,236
Join Date: 22 Apr 2005
Location: Chicago

Country:
Default Sim showing "unregistered sim" - 17-11-2008, 13:29

My maxroam sim card is showing unregistered sim. Anyone here have the same issue. I am in the US. I last used it on a recent trip in September. I can still log in and do any maintenance online. I have already opened a ticket with their customer service.


Phones: ASUS zenfone 3, Nexus 4, Lumia 650 dual sim
Sim cards: AT&T (Contract), 3 UK, Piranha Mobile
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#144)
Bossman (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Guru
 
Posts: 1,236
Join Date: 22 Apr 2005
Location: Chicago

Country:
Default 17-11-2008, 19:01

Just an update. He did mention that their engineers are looking into why it just died. The second status update is after I talked to them.
------------------------------------
Hi,

We have run some tests on your SIM card, and it appears to have ceased to function. I do apologise for this inconvenience. I can send you out a replacement SIM card, free of charge, immediately to your home address?

Regards,

Customer Service Operative

Nov-17 2008 at 16:07.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hi,

A replacement will be shipped to you shortly. When you receive the SIM just remove the old SIM and insert the new one. There is no need to register the SIM card, as all your numbers and credit have automatically been transferred across.

Regards,

Customer Service Operative

Nov-17 2008 at 17:51.




Quote:
Originally Posted by Bossman View Post
My maxroam sim card is showing unregistered sim. Anyone here have the same issue. I am in the US. I last used it on a recent trip in September. I can still log in and do any maintenance online. I have already opened a ticket with their customer service.


Phones: ASUS zenfone 3, Nexus 4, Lumia 650 dual sim
Sim cards: AT&T (Contract), 3 UK, Piranha Mobile
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#145)
bbob (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Expert
 
Posts: 499
Join Date: 20 Feb 2007

Country:
Default 18-11-2008, 08:29

Quote:
Originally Posted by MATHA531 View Post
Here is the reply I received from Maxroam regarding the charges for calls not completed.

The reason you are charged for incomplete calls is because our system operates on a ‘call back’ method, you are charged to receive this call, it is similar to a connection fee. We are working on removing call back, and thus the connection fee, and should have this removed by the end of Q1 2008.


While operators such as United Mobile do not charge this fee (we are only charging it due to the system we use, which we are trying to eliminate), they do not offer the advantage of local numbers in 46+ countries, which means that those calling your from the US can call your US number at local rates, and do not need to dial a Jersey number, as provided by United Mobile, which is sometimes charged not only as an international number, but also as a premium number.

Of course, it is inexcusable on their part not to prominently tell people they will be charged even if the call is not completed...I don't think this is a usual thing and I can't, in all due respect to them, understand why it should be different just because you have a local number than it is for UM. (and of course the question is are you charged on both ends namely the call to their switching center in Ireland and then to receive the callback?)...it is a gigantic deficiency on their part and very nearly a deal buster, nobody should be charged when a call is not completed.

Maxroam is also charging you even if the call is not completed, many other do this.

The argument that they have inbound numbers is very nice but has nothing to do with the story. If someone calls you on 1 of these did numbers and the call gets forwarded you have to pay for this forward anyhow. Also you have to pay for the did number if you want more than one. You can easliy setup a system like this yourself and use any roamfree sim.

For now I have not had to many problems calling jersey and it being treated as premium number.

but we have had the discussion here before about paying for calls that were not answered or if you received a busy tone. Yes operators should be clear about it and sure somewhere in the small print you might be able to find it. But like many others they are not clear or advertised rates on a website are outdated. There are just a few operators that have been in business a longer time that are clear about what they do.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
© 2002- ad libitum PrePaidGSM.net