PrePaidGSM.net Forum
Mobal
PrePaidGSM Home National Operators International Cards Contacts Links


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#1)
f13dfx (Offline)
Junior Member
Amateur Member
 
Posts: 19
Join Date: 09 Apr 2008

Country:
Default Is there any way to top up UK T-Mobile Sim while in Canada? - 14-04-2008, 16:57

I hope I don't get flamed for this, but I just ordered 2 UK T-Mobile prepaid sim cards with their e-topup cards.

Is there any way I can top these up so that I can receive calls and text messages right away when I land in London?

Thanks in advance to those who reply
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
andy (Offline)
Moderator
Prepaid Prophet
 
Posts: 2,123
Join Date: 10 Dec 2004

Country:
Default 14-04-2008, 17:16

Probably not, but you'd be able to top up in shops at the terminal where you land, as one or two people have done that I sent SIMs to
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
MATHA531 (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Specialist
 
Posts: 869
Join Date: 15 Oct 2004

Country:
Default 14-04-2008, 17:19

Quote:
Originally Posted by f13dfx View Post
I hope I don't get flamed for this, but I just ordered 2 UK T-Mobile prepaid sim cards with their e-topup cards.

Is there any way I can top these up so that I can receive calls and text messages right away when I land in London?

Thanks in advance to those who reply
After leaving customs at LHR, there are hoardes of shops that take the swipe card...within 30 seconds of leaving customs, you can top up...it's no problem......
  Send a message via AIM to MATHA531  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
f13dfx (Offline)
Junior Member
Amateur Member
 
Posts: 19
Join Date: 09 Apr 2008

Country:
Default 14-04-2008, 18:25

Quote:
Originally Posted by MATHA531 View Post
After leaving customs at LHR, there are hoardes of shops that take the swipe card...within 30 seconds of leaving customs, you can top up...it's no problem......
One last question. Is each top-up card tied in to the sim card it came with? So basically if they are, then all I do is give the kiosk person 5pounds along with the etopup card, correct?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
Bossman (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Guru
 
Posts: 1,249
Join Date: 22 Apr 2005
Location: Chicago

Country:
Default 14-04-2008, 23:07

Yes. The topup card is associated with the sim card that came with it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by f13dfx View Post
One last question. Is each top-up card tied in to the sim card it came with? So basically if they are, then all I do is give the kiosk person 5pounds along with the etopup card, correct?


Phones: ASUS zenfone 3, Nexus 4, Lumia 650 dual sim
Sim cards: AT&T (Contract), 3 UK, Piranha Mobile
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
f13dfx (Offline)
Junior Member
Amateur Member
 
Posts: 19
Join Date: 09 Apr 2008

Country:
Default 14-04-2008, 23:39

Can someone confirm that these Pay-As-You-Go sim cards are already active once you put them in an unlocked phone (even though you have NOT topped up yet) so that you can actually RECEIVE voice calls and text messages. I was told by the person who sold this to me that the minimum 5pound top-up was only to enable you to make voice calls and send text messages.

Thanks again!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
andy (Offline)
Moderator
Prepaid Prophet
 
Posts: 2,123
Join Date: 10 Dec 2004

Country:
Default 15-04-2008, 00:05

Sorry, I misread the OP. The SIM will be active even before you top up. I've checked a couple before I posted them
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
f13dfx (Offline)
Junior Member
Amateur Member
 
Posts: 19
Join Date: 09 Apr 2008

Country:
Default 15-04-2008, 00:29

andy:

Thank you!!! Looks like I'm set
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Motel75 (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Pioneer
 
Motel75's Avatar
 
Posts: 571
Join Date: 15 Jun 2006
Location: Berlin

Country:
Default 15-04-2008, 00:30

Yep. Also, as soon as you have topped up and done something billable, TMO gives you several goodies free -- 10 days unlimited surfing, 5 international text messages, 5 picture messages, and perhaps something else that I've forgotten. If you text INT to 441 you get 5p/min calls to several Central/Eastern European countries, in case you need it.

If you misplace the swipe card, you can get a code that you can enter by calling 150 or sending the code in a text message. You can always get more swipe cards free if you need them.


Current DE: Vodafone, Netzklub; PL: Klucz, Virgin; UK: Giffgaff; US: T-Mobile; IT: Vodafone; UA: Kyivstar; FR: Bouygues; GR: Vodafone
Former DE: Vodafone, T-Mobile, O2, Blauworld, 01051mobile, Solomo, Lycamobile, Simyo, Congstar, Fonic, Edeka Mobile, Lidl Mobile; PL: Heyah, Era, Virgin, Sami Swoi, Orange, POP, iPlus, Carrefour Mova, Telepin Mobi, Play, Lycamobile, T-Mobile; UK: Vodafone, T-Mobile, Virgin; US: T-Mobile, AT&T, Lycamobile; CZ: Vodafone, Oskar; ES: Lebara; GR: Vodafone, Wind; UA: Vodafone; IL: Orange; TR: Turkcell
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
2002- ad libitum PrePaidGSM.net